Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Buried Coax Recommendations  (Read 1809 times)
KD8BVJ
Member

Posts: 184




Ignore
« on: July 23, 2006, 08:01:42 PM »

I need about 125 feet of coax. I suppose I will bury it directly. Does anyone have any recommendations? Bury-Flex looks good but is there a more affordable alternative? I would hope my installation will last 10+ years.


       73
Logged
KD8BVJ
Member

Posts: 184




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2006, 08:31:53 PM »

Also there will be two bends. One ~45 degrees and one 90 degrees around my house. Someday I will use a 1 KW amp but for now it's 100 watts to a Butternut HF-6V.
Logged
KB9CRY
Member

Posts: 4283


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2006, 06:51:30 AM »

Personally I like the direct burial stuff from CableXperts.

www.cablexperts.com


Phil  KB9CRY
Logged
WB2WIK
Member

Posts: 20611




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2006, 08:23:29 AM »

My recommendation would be don't bury it unless you have to.
Logged
KD8BVJ
Member

Posts: 184




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2006, 08:53:06 AM »

Thanks. Cablexperts has a 500 foot minimum. I need 110 feet. I was thinking about Bury-Flex. I will have to bury it. Just to keep it out of the way.

Logged
W3LK
Member

Posts: 5639




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2006, 07:41:49 AM »

<< Cablexperts has a 500 foot minimum. >>

I think you misread something. I've ordered from them and never ran into this.

73,

Lon - W3LK
Baltimore, Maryland
Logged

A smoking section in a restaurant makes as much sense as a peeing section in a swimming pool.
KD8BVJ
Member

Posts: 184




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2006, 08:59:24 AM »

Thanks Lon. It's not important now. I ordered from Thewireman.com last night.

As it turned out RF Parts online ordering was a hassle also. There order form would not work with my browser. I will give Cablexperts another try next time.

Thewireman E-Mailed me 40 minutes after they opened this morning and said they are shipping my order today!

          Thanks Again
Logged
W3LK
Member

Posts: 5639




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2006, 09:07:33 AM »

Glad you got what you needed.

73,

Lon - W3LK
Baltimore, Maryland
Logged

A smoking section in a restaurant makes as much sense as a peeing section in a swimming pool.
N3OX
Member

Posts: 8847


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2006, 10:37:46 AM »

A run of 2" PVC electrical conduit is cheap, easy to bury and will give you something to pull new runs of coax or rotator/control cables through later.

Just a thought.

Dan
Logged

73,
Dan
http://www.n3ox.net

Monkey/silicon cyborg, beeping at rocks since 1995.
KD8BVJ
Member

Posts: 184




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: July 25, 2006, 11:55:45 AM »

I am tempted to use some sort of conduit. I would need 90 feet. That's with one 45 and one 90 degree turn.

               Thanks
Logged
AA4PB
Member

Posts: 12896




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: July 25, 2006, 01:08:02 PM »

That's probably about $30 worth of PVC. Be sure to use a "swept" 90 so you don't have any sharp bends to pull through.
Logged
KD8BVJ
Member

Posts: 184




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: July 26, 2006, 05:44:53 AM »

What is the best way to pull the conduit or does it go in during the assembly of the conduit?
Logged
KD8BVJ
Member

Posts: 184




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: July 26, 2006, 05:45:28 AM »

I mean "pull the coax"

        73
Logged
WB2WIK
Member

Posts: 20611




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: July 26, 2006, 09:45:00 AM »

Coax is unlikely to pull around a 90 degree bend unless the bend has a large radius -- surely larger than a PVC elbow.

Anyway, the conventional way to pull wires through PVC tubing is the same as pulling them through metal conduit:  Apply some grease to the wires and pull them through with a "fish tape."  Cheap tool sold in hardware stores and electrical supply houses.  If the pull is straight and not too long, you don't need the grease.

If I were burying PVC specifically for ham radio use, I'd make it larger than 2" diameter.  Makes pulling easier, and makes adding more cables later a whole lot easier.

WB2WIK/6
Logged
WILLY
Member

Posts: 286




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: July 26, 2006, 03:12:57 PM »

 by N3OX on July 25, 2006     

"A run of 2" PVC electrical conduit is cheap, easy to bury and will give you something to pull new runs of coax or rotator/control cables through"

What about condensation?  

Won't the PVC slowly accumulate water, such that the coax and rotator cables will be soaking in water all the time?
That can't be a good thing.

I remember reading about this somewhere, but can't remember what said next.    

Any comments from anyone?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!