Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Putting together a shack...  (Read 844 times)
KD4QWI

Ignore
« on: August 22, 2006, 04:05:04 AM »

So after having my ticket for a long time, I'm finally getting to the point where I have the resources needed to put together a shack, though, its going to be a rather small one.

I'm looking for suggestions for a good multi purpose rig (something that will cover the HF as well as 2m/70cm), antenna's (the neighborhood HOA prohibits visible antenna's) and what not.

I've been looking at the IC-706MKIIG, as that seems to be a decent rig in the sub 1k price range.

I'm currently a Tech, working on upgrading the license and getting the code done before it disappears forever and I'd love any suggestions/recomendations/ideas that anyone has.

Thanks!

Mark
KD4QWI
K8GU

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2006, 08:47:45 AM »

The IC-706 series is popular rig for just the reasons you mentioned.  Beware that, like many DC-to-daylight radios, it's a jack-of-all-trades, master of none.  I believe it will serve you well as long as you don't ask too much of it (think receiver in a crowded HF band).  
WB2WIK

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2006, 11:18:40 AM »

>Putting together a shack...       Reply
by KD4QWI on August 22, 2006    Mail this to a friend!
So after having my ticket for a long time, I'm finally getting to the point where I have the resources needed to put together a shack, though, its going to be a rather small one.

I'm looking for suggestions for a good multi purpose rig (something that will cover the HF as well as 2m/70cm), antenna's (the neighborhood HOA prohibits visible antenna's) and what not.<