Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Ham Shack Design?  (Read 3639 times)
AB1DZ

Ignore
« on: April 03, 2005, 05:46:30 PM »

Greetings,

I am a newbie.  I am trying to decide where to put my hamshack.  I am planning on doing 2m, 70cm and HF.  My choices are a detached garage or my basement.

At first, I was considering the detached garage because it is about 150 feet from the house, and I would guess less possibility of interferance.

Now I am considering the basement.  I wouldn't be bothering anyone else in the house.  Since the house has a large chimney (>10feet higher than garage) and an antenna there would be perfect.  However, the coax feed into the house could enter the house with the phone, electric, and cable wires.  Am I correct in guessing that this is very undesireable?  Should I look for another way to route the ham coax into the house?

Any ideas, hints, comments?

Thanks,

Roland

W7DJM

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2005, 06:27:10 PM »

The garage may have problems from the aspect of climate control.  Is it insulated?  Heated?  I don't know how warm it gets in your area, or how the garage is situated, but "overwarmth" in the summer may be an issue, too.   If unheated, humidity and extreme cold will take it's toll on modern equipment.

I would certainly try to maintain at least some separation between phone/cable and other such cables.  Do you have a window that you can temporarily rework?  Replace with plexiglass/plywood, etc?
WB2WIK

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2005, 12:01:38 PM »

Assuming you can deal with the climate control and possible dust/insect issues you're likely to find with a garage hamshack, I might suggest focusing on which location would provide best access to the highest possible antennas you might install.