Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: New Technician and FT-857d and Reception Problems  (Read 1265 times)
KC0YDD

Ignore
« on: January 12, 2008, 12:36:34 PM »

Hey folks-

I am a Technician class Amateur (studying for General) and want to get my feet wet in HF.  I bought a used FT-857d from a local ham and I am having a bit of trouble setting it up.  I have an Astron SS-30 30 amp PS for it, as well as an AT-100Pro tuner from LDG.

I bought, from HRO locally here in Denver, 100 ft of 50 ohm coax, as well as a pre-made G5RV Lite by Radio Wavez.  The problem is that I can hear the odd station on 20m but I can't hear a darned thing on 10m, or 15m.  Let's not even get into transmitting yet, I'm just trying to get to the point where I can hear other folks...  My buddy, a general class amateur from Cali, calls me on 10m but I can't hear a darned thing on seemingly any frequency on 10m.  I can't even hear the ARRL code practice.  I've tried 25 feet of #14 wire stuck in the center poll of the HF receptacle on the back of the radio, and get the same (or worse, to be honest) performance.

One problems I have with putting up a dipole or any other sort of large wire antenna is that I can't easily get on the roof of my house-  The angle of the roof is very very steep and I don't have a tall enough ladder.  So the G5RV lite is hung from a tree 37 ft above the ground.  The ladder line hangs to about a foot off the ground.  My yard is tiny, so I can't really put in any sort of meaningful tower...