Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Grounding  (Read 677 times)
NJ2H
Member

Posts: 6




Ignore
« on: February 11, 2008, 08:09:48 AM »

To tie my shack/antenna mast ground (which currently has three ground rods) into the power/tel ground, the wire will have to cross above ground over concrete for about twenty feet. There is no way of going under the concrete for that distance. I'm not a expert on this, so I wonder if there is any problem with the bonding wire not being in continuous contact with earth.
Logged
KB9CRY
Member

Posts: 4284


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2008, 08:44:05 AM »

Not a good idea.  They should be on or in the ground.  Go around the concrete instead.
Logged
AI4NS
Member

Posts: 320


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2008, 05:42:01 PM »

Rent a concrete saw from the local rental yard, cut a slit, run your ground wire in it, then seal it up. Or use an expansion joint in your existing slab. They make an epoxy sealer specifically to fill concrete joints.

Mike
AI4NS
Logged
K9KJM
Member

Posts: 2416




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2008, 12:49:28 AM »

I agree.  Rent a concrete saw that will cut a kerf wide enough to lay a solid #6 copper wire in, And a tube of that special concrete caulk to hold it in place would be the best way. OR just go around the slab as suggested. (NO sharp bends in any ground wire however! Make the bends a very gradual radius)
And if for some reason you cannot do it either way, Then do run it above ground somehow. (A distant third choice to do)  But all grounds DO need to be bonded together.
Logged
N5RMS
Member

Posts: 37




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2008, 05:36:12 PM »

Did you use 8 ft. or longer ground rods? Did you drive them all the way in the earth?  If you answered yes to both question.  I, personally, would not worry about tieing the two together.
 
Logged
K9KJM
Member

Posts: 2416




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2008, 12:58:17 AM »

Again, ALL GROUNDS NEED TO  BE BONDED TOGETHER!

PERIOD.  

Anyone who tells  you otherwise knows little to nothing about real lightning protection.  


Logged
NJ2H
Member

Posts: 6




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2008, 08:46:42 AM »

I contacted QST. The technical editor, Joel W1ZR told me there is no problem with the wire running over the concrete. It does not have to be buried. He was more concerned that I was using several ground rods at the shack ground, which I am.
Logged
KC8HQX
Member

Posts: 177




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2008, 05:48:16 AM »

The real issue is having a span that long with no intermediate ground rods. The longer the span between ground rods, the greater potential (difference) caused by a nearby strike. If you can manage it, flat copper flashing would be *much* better for the ground run you're talking about.

You can get a 10"x 20' roll of copper flashing from Lowes for about $38. Cut in half or third wide, you'd have 40 or 60 feet worth of high quality, low impedance ground conductor.

Doug
KC8HQX
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!