Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: radio selection  (Read 742 times)
KD8FZI

Ignore
« on: April 07, 2008, 12:43:03 PM »

I am not sure if this is the corect area to ask this, but I am somewhat new at ham radio and i am about to upgrade to general class this weekend. I need help choseing a new hf rig, I am curently saving up money to buy a ft-897d, but my parents sugested that i might get a cheeper rig like the ic718 or the ft 817 or some other qrp rig. the problem I have is my antenna, i am planing to use the apartment antenna from mfj the mfj1625, this is due to the lovely document called cc&r.

And for those who think i shuld use a flagpole ant, the little hill net to my shack that would be oh so perfect, a sewer pipeline is under there...
ps. oh, the reason for the 897 is for the 2 and 440 bands as all i have is a half broken ht
WB2WIK

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2008, 01:42:34 PM »

The antenna's far more important than the rig.

The MFJ-1625 can actually work fairly well *if* it is installed clamped to an aluminum window frame, so the entire whip is outside, with the tuner kind of sitting on the windowsill facing inside.

And that's pretty much the only way it will work.  Don't even think about using it entirely inside.

If you can *ground* the window frame, or the mounting bracket for the 1625 (they should be one and the same place), that will help a lot.  Use the shortest possible and fattest possible ground wire to an earth ground or at least a cold water pipe nearby.

Learn how to adjust the antenna carefully, it's a bit of a trick but after a few dozen tries it becomes easier.

Using QRP with such a small antenna could be an exercise in frustration; 100W will work better and make contacts easier.