Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: grounding with soft roll copper  (Read 2425 times)
VOODOO42

Ignore
« on: December 17, 2008, 03:08:13 PM »

Going to start working on my shack....I am new to station building and have read sooooo many different theroies on how and why to ground a certain way. Here is what will be easiest for me and seems to go along with some of the ideas out there...can anyone tell me if this is not ok for rf grounding? I am basing this not on safety,but on the idea that stray rf can build up on chasis,line,yadda yadda yadda.

For my ground bus I am going to use 5/8 roll soft copper to run across my work bench and then up my wall 4 feet. I am then going to use a short piece of #4 copper to run through the wall to 3 ground rods. Each piece of equipment bonded to the roll copper with flattened roll copper and holes drilled in the ends for attachment. I know some say to bond to the house cold water and som say not to. My antenna is about 120 feet away from the shack so they would not be bonded to the same ground anyway.

Any ideas before I get at it would be appreciated,
Thanks.....screaming voodoo
KB9CRY

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2008, 03:59:36 PM »

Sounds good to me.  At the ground rods outside, you bond your lightning arrestors which are on every cable coming into the shack. Then you run that #4 wire outside and around to the electrical service entrance ground.  The water pipe bond is not really required.
VOODOO42

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2008, 04:19:56 PM »

The cold water pipe is my house ground. There is no rod driven for the electrical panel. should I ground to the cold pipe also as well as my rods I will drive outside.
K9KJM

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2008, 10:51:19 PM »