Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Kenwood TS-450s & computer control ???  (Read 5535 times)
VE3VID
Member

Posts: 145




Ignore
« on: January 23, 2009, 10:44:25 AM »

Do you have a TS450 and running computer control?  I'd like to hear from you.  I never bothered with computer control of my 450s because I thought it was too old a rig for newer software.  Recently I was told otherwise.  I'd like to hear from any one with first hand info.......thanks

David
ve3vid at hotmail
Logged
KE4DRN
Member

Posts: 3721




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2009, 02:48:22 PM »

hi David,

take a look at HRD  Ham Radio Deluxe,
it suports many radios including your 450s

http://www.ham-radio-deluxe.com/Home/tabid/36/Default.aspx

works great with my ts-570.

you can run in demo mode to see how it works.

73 james
Logged
WB2WIK
Member

Posts: 20567




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2009, 04:59:37 PM »

I don't have the 450S, but I do have its "big brother," the TS850S, and it runs fine on modern computer software including HRD.

WB2WIK/6
Logged
VE3VID
Member

Posts: 145




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2009, 08:26:04 PM »

Can you guys tell me about the interfacing you use?  What do you think about the DigiMaster USB from ZLP Electronics?  Is this all I need to connect the 2?

David
Logged
K0BT
Member

Posts: 181




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2009, 10:48:57 PM »

The TS-450S will work fine under computer control, but you need an RS-232 (+ and - 12V) to TTL (0-5V)level converter, such as the Kenwood IF-232C, to make it work with your computer.  The feature set that is exposed to teh software may not be as great as is offerered on some newer radios, and I think the data rate is only 4800, but it's still fun to use software like Ham Radio Deluxe with the rig.

If you are inclined toward building electronic stuff, you may want to look at the Maxim MAX232 chip as to buld your own level converter.  Otherwise, you can build one using the old standby 1488 and 1489 level converters.  I just looked on the web and searched for "1488 level converter" and found the following page:  http://www.surducan.netfirms.com/RS232.html for an example.
Logged
VE3VID
Member

Posts: 145




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: January 28, 2009, 02:13:04 PM »

Okay, so what about the DigiMaster product?
http://www.g4zlp.co.uk/unified/DM_MiniPRO2.shtml
I ran into this same problem years ago, the Kenwood proprietary RS232 interface is difficult/impossible to find.
Logged
K0BT
Member

Posts: 181




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: January 28, 2009, 04:16:00 PM »

The Digimaster product is great for AFSK audio processing for RTTY, PSK, etc., but you still need the TTL to RS-232 level converter like the IF-232C to control the radio (frequency, mode, and so on) using what's referred to as "CAT".  I personally prefer the Tigertronics SignaLink USB, but that's probably just because I own one and am familiar with it.

There are vendors out there who sell Kenwood CAT cables that do the level conversion and replace the need for the IF-232C.  Some of them are direct USB to TTL converters so you don't even need the old serial port on the PC.  Just Google "Kenwood CAT interface" and several choices will show up.  The cables are sometimes cheaper than folks sell the older Kenwood interfaces for on eBay.  Just make sure you get the one that plugs into the 8-pin DIN connector in the back of the radio.  
Logged
W9RLL
Member

Posts: 1




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2009, 02:20:22 PM »

Just got a CAT Cable from ZLP Electronics and it works great and I just love it use it with win-eqf and ham radio delux also got the USB SignaLink Have now made a few psk 31 contact and will be working for Rtty
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!