Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Windows Master Boot Record Keeps Failing  (Read 1267 times)
KI6DYR

Ignore
« on: July 15, 2009, 04:45:45 PM »

I am a computer professional and run well over 100 Internet servers. I'm pretty sure about my skills but have just begun experiencing the failures of the MBR on two separate systems. Both are quality systems using metal tower cases. The only commonality is Western Digital drives, but one is EIDE but the other is a SATA RAID system.

The only change in the shack is that my main dipole is now up quite high. My mountain home is a 2-story and the center-point is only about 35 feet above the failing system upstairs. This is also where my 2 meter repeater is located with an Arcom RC210 controller. When I run the Ameritron 811H the Arcom phantomly reboots. Even though the RC210 is designed for remote control of HF rigs it appears to have little or no RFI protection. A snap-on RF choke on the power leads fixed that, even though the RC210 was being fed directly by a marine battery.

Back to the point, that room is where I build PC's. A new build is now failing to boot and requires a complete reinstallation.

On to the second PC (my main work PC), which is located downstairs and well below the dipole. It too has developed a failing MBR (that the other system was built to replace!) The amplifier has sat next to this PC for about two years with no issue. The station ground is good and can fully illuminate a 100 watt incandescent light bulb. Issues only began after moving the dipole.

Is this just coincidence or have others experienced this? If so, how did you resolve the issue?

On the plus side the dipole is kicking butt up at about 70 feet on sloping hillsides Smiley
K1CJS

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2009, 08:49:02 AM »