The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Microphone recommendation for beginner?  (Read 2488 times)
KC4YEY

Ignore
« on: October 16, 2009, 04:35:18 PM »

I'm just about to get started in HF.  I've been an amateur for 18 years and just upgraded to Extra class.  It's about time to do more than 2 meters and 70cm.

I've picked out my intended HF rig, a nice Yaesu FT-1000,
and should be picking it up in a few days.   But it doesn't come with a microphone.

I'm looking for recommendations on what you think are the best sounding desk mics available for this rig.  I'm not too worried about cost.  I won't go overboard but I think I can afford an excellent microphone.   So please, make some recommendations to me so I can start to check them out.

Chris
AA4PB

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2009, 05:20:56 PM »

I'd suggest either a Yaesu desk mike designed for the radio or one of the Heil mikes.

Bob  AA4PB
Garrisonville, VA
KS2G

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2009, 04:55:38 AM »

Heil HM-10

http://www.heilsound.com/amateur/products/hm10dual/index.htm

The HM-10 Dual is a dynamic microphone designed for clean, clear, articulate audio for Amateur Radio communications circuits. The HM-10 Dual includes both the HC-4 "DX Dream Machine" element and the HC-5 full-range element, and it's ideal for hand-held use, for mounting on a boom, or mounting on a desk stand.

$128 List.
Requires CC1Y rig cable ($35 List) and desk stand of your choice (A "cheapie" Atlas Sound stand available at Radio Shack will do just fine.)

At R&L Electronics:
Microphone - $119.95
http://www.rlham.com/cgi-bin/shop/modellookup.dbw?MODEL=HM10DUAL

CC1 Cable - $29.95
http://www.rlham.com/cgi-bin/shop/modellookup.dbw?MODEL=CC1Y

Good luck.

Mel - KS2G
WB2WIK

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2009, 09:55:06 PM »