Super Scanner Antenna

(1/1)

Greg P.:
I'm just starting out in Ham Radio. No I'm still studying for my Tech Lic. OK someone is giving me a tower with an Antenna on it. Looking on the internet to see what type it is....and it looks like a Super Scanner Cb antenna. He says he used it for 10 meter  on a (Uniden/President) radio. Can I use this antenna?
Or should I keep the Tower and throw away the antenna.
P.S. He is Not a ham......and has little or no info on antenna.

Thanks in advance....Extract44

Steve J. Holm:
Yes you could (transmit) when you have a Tech PLUS or General license (HF CW privileges).

You may need a transmatch though.Those are quite an antenna and can be directional if it works right yet.

Good luck on your first test and let us know if you need any help !!
Steve

Michael Dassero:
When I got my first ticket, Novice with code then tech plus my first HF radio was a Kenwood TS440s and my first HF antenna was a Super Scanner Antenna and my radio which had an auto tuner built in tuned the antenna with no probs at all.  I had low SWR's all the way around.  It is an excellent ELECTRICAL beam antenna and you don't need anything special to tune the antenna if your SWR's are good and no trans-match needed.  When you get HF privilages good luck on the antenna and by all means don't get rid of it.  Glad you also obtained a tower alongwith the antenna because when you decide to upgrade to a regular rotating beam then you have something to put the new beam on.  Finances considering.  Hope to someday hear you on the radio.

Good Luck

73's Mike, N0mud

MIKE BSEE,/BSCME- M.S.B.M.E:
I remember the super scanner. The originsl msker was Avante.

You have 3 10M dipole anetnna's. The atnenna can be omnidirectional with 3db(d) gain,(thats 3 db gain more than a dipole. So you would have a superior antenna to a 10M vertical with no radials.

The other  elements could act as dual directors for the driven element that was radiating in the direction you wanted to go.