Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Echolink  (Read 946 times)
KD7WWR
Member

Posts: 12




Ignore
« on: July 12, 2003, 05:46:10 PM »

Anyone here using Echolink?  I've downloaded it, and I can browse all of the links, but when I try and connect, I have no luck.

I am thinking that it probably has to do with my NAT.  I've redirected all of the Echolink ports, (5198, 5199, and 5200), but it is still unable to connect.  Anyone here using Echolink behind a router or other device running NAT?

73,

Ben
Logged
KB9UMT
Member

Posts: 412


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2003, 10:25:00 AM »

Hello:

I am sure you will get an answer here but if not join this Yahoo Group that has over 1300 EchoLink members that will be happy to answer your questions...go here:

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/echolink/

Gl and have fun

de kb9umt Don
btw...anyone thinking of upgrading and using HF and the airways please let some of us Hams support you...

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/hamradiohelp/

Logged
KD7WWR
Member

Posts: 12




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2003, 10:23:13 AM »

I got it to work...I had my NAT settings all hosed up.

I would love to put up an antenna and use a radio, in fact, I fully intend on doing so.  However, financially, like any responsible person, there are other priorities right now, like fixing things on the house and my wife's medical bills.  

What's wrong with Echolink?  I think it was a great idea and great use of VOIP technology that has made its way into this arena.  If you don't like it, don't use it.  But you will not see me pulling the plug on my computer anytime soon.
Logged
KC0LCS
Member

Posts: 39




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2003, 11:38:38 AM »

Totally on, KD7WWR! What's wrong with Echolink? Nothing. I just think of it as another mode of radio communication. And, to KB9YKY, don't do it if you don't like it! I, personally, love Echolink and think it's a great advantage for ham radio. For those who say Echolink's horrible, just give it a try and give it a chance. Thought I'd put in my 2 cents worth. 73 all, Nathan KCØLCS
Logged
N6YVY
Member

Posts: 5




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2003, 10:38:17 PM »

I thought about echolink for about 30 seconds took a look at my $800. Hf radio and decided to use a real radio. Unlike (YKY) I can use H.F. He only dreams about it. His profile says he (YKY) uses cw on two and six meters. So if he uses cw WHY is he not on H.F.??
If he (YKY) is a tech + why does he not just upgrade by doing the writing test. Maybe he's all hot air.
He's had his ticket long enough that if he were a + it would show in the call servers.
Logged
N4VNV
Member

Posts: 179


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2003, 08:02:31 AM »

Glad you got it to work. See you on "ECHOLINK". I've been Advanced Class 25 years and I see this as just another tool. For people that don't want to use it that's fine. But it's inappropriate to criticize in the manner I've seen here.
Logged
KG6OYK
Member

Posts: 7




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: July 31, 2003, 02:06:15 AM »

N6YVY -  I am a General, have two HF radios, and love Echolink. I also enjoy HF. Why the bashing? Maybe he doesn't "dream" about HF.  Not everyone who doesn't upgrade is an idiot. Lighten up!

Enjoy WHATEVER mode you like!
73 - KG6OYK - catch you on 20M PSK31 - my current favorite!
Logged
N2WEC
Member

Posts: 182


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #7 on: September 21, 2003, 09:50:09 AM »

It matters not, Echolink is not radio. Do you need a radio to talk to another Amateur? The answer is no. Therfore it matters not.
Logged
TWISTED
Member

Posts: 6




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: March 27, 2004, 07:31:28 PM »

N2WEC,
Last I checked, unless you are connected directly with another station on Echolink, your voice is being transmitted over someones radio. Sounds like radio to me.
Logged
TWISTED
Member

Posts: 6




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: March 27, 2004, 07:31:46 PM »

N2WEC,
Last I checked, unless you are connected directly with another station on Echolink, your voice is being transmitted over someones radio. Sounds like radio to me.
Logged
KG4LMU
Member

Posts: 31


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #10 on: November 18, 2004, 05:22:05 AM »

Join the echolink yahoo group and have most of your posted denied. All of your post's moderated by the look of your call and validation of your question. Politics and radio dont belong. Check out www.geocities.com/worldwidemd/
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/echolink-radio/
For and unmoderated spammless group for all of your echolink VOIP ham radio related questions.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!