Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: TK-760h programming question  (Read 11343 times)
KEITHWIRED

Ignore
« on: March 21, 2006, 07:57:57 PM »

Ok, I am using the KPG-29D programming software to program my mobile radio. Can anyone tell me what all the features are because the help file really doesnt explain what the features are or what they do. For example what is

PTT id
Dial id
Connect id
Disconnect id
Transpond Tone
clear to transpoond
beep tone

Also in the programming interface where you put in channels what is the

Opt Sig colum
and the PTT id colum
and the W/N Scn colum for

Sorry I am new to programming and I tried to find a guide or tutorial for this software and found nothing
KE4SKY

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2006, 06:46:12 AM »

These sound like SmartTrunk options which you won't need for amateur applications.  I'm not that familiar with the Kenwood commercial rigs, but own several of the ICOMs in both UHF and VHF, both mobile and portables, and this sounds like selective calling.

You "could" use the programmed speed dial and tones for OTA repeater control, if you aren't worried about some hacker capturing the control sequence.  
VE6NHZ

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2006, 10:08:04 PM »

Hey guys, I too just bought said radio and am curious about its use in the amateur band...

I know the regs, that's NOT an issue at all.  What I want to know if I can just program it for the amateur band, or if there are any mods that need to be made.

As well can this rig be used with reapeters? or is it only simplex? I've seen DTMF and CTCSS both as features, but I have NOT seen anything about it's use with repeaters...

Can anyone confirm reapeater use? And if so, do I HAVE to use a computercable/software?

Thanks for your time all,
Cheers and 73's
-David
(VE6NHZ)
KEITHWIRED

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2006, 10:31:46 PM »