Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: need help wiring a FT950 to a 811h  (Read 591 times)
N2PLR
Member

Posts: 2




Ignore
« on: January 01, 2010, 05:47:05 AM »

Ok I Have a Yaesu FT950 and a Ameritron 811H and need to connect them.  I got the din cable from HRO 11 wire premolded one.  Any idea what goes to the ALC and relay.  Do I need the ALC.  Are there any settings on the radio?
Thanks
Doug
N2PLR
Logged
W5KG
Member

Posts: 73




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2010, 08:07:50 AM »

It is all in the manual and you really need to read and get a general understanding it in order to operate the FT950 or you will not like it..
On page 15 of the manual it will tell you what pins are ALC and relay. Pins 2 and 3 for the amp keying. Pins 9 and 3 are for ALC. Pin 3 is a common ground.
You will have to figure what color of wire goes to what using your wiring harness.
You asked do you really need to use ALC. The answer will very. Some say yes and some no.
If you do not run over 60 watts of drive no. If more that 60 watts maybe yes.
Personally I use ALC. If you have an rig that the out put is geater that 100w then you must run ALC. If your amp will except more that 100w and in doing so the output of the amp is greater that legal limit. It is a must.
Good luck es 73
de W5KG Don
Logged
W5KG
Member

Posts: 73




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2010, 08:30:50 AM »

You also need to make sure that wires going to pin numbers 2 and 9 are on the center pins of each of the RCA jacks.
You also asked if there are any setting that need to be changed in the menu. For using the amp I can not think of any menu changes other than setting the out put to 60w. For the AL811H 60 watts is about right.
Don, W5KG
Logged
KF6OCI
Member

Posts: 104




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2010, 04:12:46 PM »

If you have the 10 pin the ALC is in it.

You say you have the 10 pin, with it the ALC is
connected. You should have 2 RCA plugs on the
other end, one for the linear and one for ALC.

   Dan
Logged
KF6OCI
Member

Posts: 104




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2010, 04:19:27 PM »

The ones I've seen the RED RCA goes to the linear,
the other to ALC. But check.


   Dan
Logged
NK5G
Member

Posts: 102




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2010, 09:25:39 AM »

K8TJ (aka cw-man) sells a built and tested cable that you need. I bought one for my FT-950 to Al-811H and it works great. The price is right also.

http://stores.ebay.com/CW-MAN-Ham-Radio-Gear-and-Supplies
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!