Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: new to yaesu 101 ee  (Read 401 times)
CAPTBKW

Ignore
« on: March 19, 2010, 01:16:38 PM »

Hi everone I just bought a Yaesu from a friend mint been in unopen box for 5 years , I am studying for my ham radio license so I picked it up cheap question picked up a multiban vert. ant and tried it picks up fair puts out about 90 watts probaly need to tweak it. should i get a linier found a fl 2100 b for a good price don,t really want to pass it up unless i don,t need it how far should i be able to transmit without it ,verses with it ,what would be a good ant. tuner or don,t need one thanks
WB5JEO

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2010, 01:40:04 PM »

What bands and modes are you interested in? Using anything now?
WT0A

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2010, 01:41:16 PM »

Brian
When you say unopened do you mean never used?
It should put out 100w easily into a dummy load on cw.
What you see on SSB will depend on the meter you are using.
Please do not transmit into an antenna until you get your license.
Glen
WB2WIK

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2010, 02:54:48 PM »

"Unopened box for 5 years?"

If it was really unopened (as in "new stuff inside") it would have been in there for about 35 years, because that's how old the rig is.

You shouldn't be transmitting without a license.
W7ETA

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2010, 06:19:07 PM »

"puts out about 90 watts probaly need to tweak it"