Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 11 meter SWR meter on 2 meter?  (Read 2808 times)
KJ4RWH

Ignore
« on: March 18, 2010, 04:07:18 PM »

I'm new to Amateur Radio (Tech ticket, 4 weeks old) and have a nice Courier "Porta-Lab 500" swr/power meter from my CB days. Can I use it to accurately measure swr for my 2 meter equipment? I've already discovered it doesn't read FM power (meter kicks on key-up and returns to zero)
What can you recommend for a good balance in price/value?
W2AEW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2010, 04:20:55 PM »

I think you'll find that the CB SWR meter won't well (or at all) on 144MHz.  In fact, if it was going to work, it would read power just fine on FM.  The fact that it doesn't tells you right away that it is not going to work for SWR either on 2m.

There are a lot of VHF/UHF SWR meters out there.  You don't have to buy new.  You can look for a decent used meter on the classified here, or on www.qth.com or on www.qrz.com.  Or, even eBay if you dare.

Name brands will generally be decent meters:  Daiwa, Kenwood, Yaesu, Diamond, Autek, etc.  Even MFJ SWR meters should be fine.  There are some nice Heathkits out there too, but with these you are subject to the skill of the original builder.

------------------------------------------------------
My YouTube channel...
...ham radio, basic electronics tutorials, etc.
http://www.youtube.com/w2aew
WB6BYU

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2010, 04:45:00 PM »

I use CB-style SWR meters all the time on 2m.  They aren't horribly accurate, of course, but
for most purposes the ones I've are quite adequate.  It does depend on how the meter is
built, however.

Most CB-style meters use two conductors in parallel with the feedline, etched onto a printed
circuit board.  They certainly show you "higher" or "lower" SWR, which is usually sufficient for