The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Running a Mobile radio as fixed station  (Read 906 times)
KD8MTI

Ignore
« on: March 22, 2010, 09:10:22 PM »

Hey Y'all, Quick question. I'm new to the hobby (got my tech license December '09) and kind of new to the technical aspects of stuff.

I have an older Icom IC-2000 i picked up at a ham fest yesterday, and it requires a power supply with more than 11 amp, My power supply is 8 amp, will I hurt the radio if i keep it running on the 8 amp?

Thanks.
KD8MTI
K9KJM

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2010, 11:27:51 PM »

Just operate the radio on it's lower power settings and you should be fine until you can get a larger power supply.

Note that many of us use a marine deep cycle type battery (Or even better an AGM type) along with a fully AUTOMATIC type 10 amp battery charger to power radios.
W7ETA

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2010, 12:10:44 AM »

Try running it at half power until you get the power supply you need.  Its been years since I had a mobile rig on a power supply, never owned a rig that didn't have its own power supply, but my mobile would trip the circuit breaker in the power supply--not good for the power supply.

Bob
KD8MTI

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2010, 07:35:25 AM »

Thanks for the replies.

Yeah, I saw some nice radios at the ham fest, But didn't have $500 to spend.

I'll run it on medium power till I get a bigger power supply.
AA4HA

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2010, 09:35:16 AM »

Just so you have it, here is a link to where you can download a service manual for that radio;

www.download.n7tgb.net/Icom.../IC-2000_service_manual.pdf