Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Dummy Loads  (Read 2839 times)
W0DLM

Ignore
« on: April 05, 2010, 08:00:59 PM »

Okay, so I am a newbie.  I got myself an HF radio and now I'm trying to figure out what I need next.  Power supply, obviously.  SWR meter, I'm pretty sure.  Dummy load?  I think so, but what kind?

The radio has 100 watt max output.  How big of a dummy load do I need?  I see some that can handle 100 watts continuously.  They're a lot more expensive than the ones that handle 100 watts for only a minute or so.

So, when you use a dummy load, how often are you transmitting into it continuously, and for how long?  If I get one that can handle 100 watts for 30 seconds or so, is that going to be adequate?

Thanks!

W0DLM
VA3RTX

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2010, 08:24:34 PM »

For the money, about $150 new or $100 used, I would suggest a MFJ-949E. This is a combination Antenna Tuner, SWR/Power Meter, 300 Watt Dummy Load and Antenna Switch. I've been using one for over a year now and find it very useful. You can read many reviews on this unit here at eHam...

73's VA3RTX
N3OX

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2010, 08:29:44 PM »

If your radio is a modern solid state one and not a tube hybrid or something, 100W for 1minute or so is fine.  You will only need it for things like making sure a problem isn't inside your radio or what I use mine for: adjusting digital modes or transmit audio... If you need to learn to tune up a tube rig or you build or fix stuff, a higher power load is useful.

Dan
http://www.n3ox.net

Monkey/silicon cyborg, beeping at rocks since 1995.
K0ZN

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2010, 09:53:26 PM »

Hi,