Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 27 mhz cb to 80 meters conversion  (Read 2635 times)
FIDO69R
Member

Posts: 11




Ignore
« on: June 04, 2007, 01:19:02 PM »

Anyone know of a conversion or kit available for the old superstar 360 or ham international cb radios to the 80 meter band?
Logged
G0GQK
Member

Posts: 634




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2007, 02:16:57 PM »

Hello,

Its a nice idea but if it could be done it would have been done years ago.

Kind regards,  Mel G0GQK
Logged
FIDO69R
Member

Posts: 11




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2007, 10:26:35 PM »

Hi....or am I thinking of 40-45 meters? I know there was a kit available years ago for these radios...but memory is a bit vague...I have changed the subject heading.
Logged
W3LK
Member

Posts: 5639




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2007, 07:57:41 AM »

The only bands you are going to put 27mHz CB radios on is 10 meters - MAYBE 6 meters if you want to do major surgery.

In either case, it simply isn't worth the effort - especially since there is very little, if any, AM activity on either 10 or 6 meters.

Lon - W3LK
Baltimore, Maryland - Soon to be Naugatuck, Connecticut
Logged

A smoking section in a restaurant makes as much sense as a peeing section in a swimming pool.
N3JWN
Member

Posts: 103




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2007, 01:53:22 AM »

W3LK I dont know where you've been but 2900-29.20 10 meters AM is very alive and well the recent band opening I worked 30-40 stations all in the midwest and south... Also 50.400 is very active for 6 meters AM worked 10-12 stations there last week?Huh There is AM activity on Both be safe take careif you can hear'em you can work em Thanks Dick / n3jwn
Logged
KB1GMX
Member

Posts: 829




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: June 06, 2007, 07:16:39 AM »

The biggest problem is that the coils needed will not fit in the available space.  I've done it before and the lowest I'd go is 15M, maybe 20M for that reason.  It's a tough fit and the synth circuits do not work well going down that low.

However most are an easy shot for 10M especially some of the mid-70s and before radios.

There are very few I'd put on 6M, I've done it and most
require a whole new synth and a great deal of work in the RF (RX and TX) to work well.

I have found that many CBs (SSB and AM) are a great source of parts for building!


Allison
KB1GMX
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!