Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: FT-450 and HRD 4.0 - can't get it to run, serial/usb problem?  (Read 3311 times)
VE3PLO

Ignore
« on: May 01, 2010, 05:37:36 PM »

This is my first time hooking up any type of radio to a computer. I have an extensive background in computer hardware/troubleshooting etc.
Since my HP slimline computer does not have any comm ports - pretty obvious these days, i purchased a usb serial port. I also purchased a straight 9 pin female to female cable.
Computer takes the drivers for the usb/comm just fine. I have tried that on both computers with USB only connectors. When i load HRD 4.0 it can not connect to the radio, neither on the port installed by the usb/comm device nor on "auto".
In device manager at "usb comm port" properties i assigned different settings to the port, i changed it to comm 1 and comm 4, tried different baud rates etc. no luck.
It is XP on both machines. Too bad i dont have computer with a comm port Sad Please suggest something.

Is there any settings in the radio that need to be enabled for the communication to work?
VE3PLO

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2010, 07:31:56 PM »

unable to read Freq - this is the error message that i get. I also tried HRD 5, different cable (usb to serial) with different drivers.
I have a feeling that there is something on the radio's side that needs to be turned on.
KC8AHN

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2010, 05:11:20 AM »

Check the catrate menu, there are a couple other menus that I cannot recall. I do not have a CAT cable so I am having the same issues as you with my 450 and HRD.
N4NYY

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2010, 06:50:40 AM »