Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Newbee remote station  (Read 2973 times)
K0IZ
Member

Posts: 737




Ignore
« on: May 22, 2010, 03:59:55 PM »

I am seriously considering setting up a remote station operation.  Probably with K3 and my tube amp.  Antenna is 4 leg long wire V beam with 3 relays to select various combinations of the 4 wires.

After doing some research, I'm considerating the following and would greatly appreciate comments from those with experience at remote setups.

K3
Radio Remote Control 1258MkII (May QST)
TRX Manager
LP-Remote to control antenna relays, amp, and other stuff.
Dell Optiplex 2.26Ghz Pent 4 at radio site. XP Pro
New quad processor pc at client location,  XP Pro
LogMeIn software

My remote station will be in mountains of Colorado.  Have a WiFi antenna pointed at mountain about 12 miles away.  Get 1 to 2 Mbit connectivity.  Operation will be 20M SSB (no CW), for DXing and contesting, mostly with amp on.

John, KØIZ
« Last Edit: May 22, 2010, 04:01:28 PM by John Raydo » Logged
W6ONV
Member

Posts: 99


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2010, 07:50:17 PM »

If you can still find them, there is a good two part article on How Not to Build an SO2R  Contest Station by K6VVA (Rick) in the National Contesting Journal from the Jan/Feb and May/Apr issues. You can read Part 1 here and read Part 2 here. Some good information for those considering a serious remote set up.
Logged
K0IZ
Member

Posts: 737




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2010, 06:04:06 AM »

Thanks, Steve, for suggestion.  I just read the issues.  Seems that Rick really likes the RemoteRig ver II.    John.
Logged
K0IZ
Member

Posts: 737




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2010, 07:16:37 AM »

Update to my first post:  After spending some additional time looking at N8LP's station configuration, I am headed towards the following:

At Radio location:
K3
Radio Remote Control 1258MkII for control of K3 and audio
LP-Remote at radio end for antenna and misc switching
Lantronix UDS200 serial to eithernet for control of LP-Remote
Existing Linksys hub/router

Not sure how best turn on radio, whether this can be done via 1258 or other ways.  Fallback would be to use X10 module, which I have.

This eliminates the need (I think) for a PC at the radio location

At client location:
Quad PC with Windows 7
TRX Manager software
Lantronix Com Port Redirector software
LP-Remote software

Radio Remote Control 1258MkII client unit

Not sure if I need LogMeIn or equivalent software

Any comments, suggestions?


« Last Edit: May 23, 2010, 07:50:17 AM by John Raydo » Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!