The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: FT-817ND Antenna recommendations  (Read 20331 times)
SASHARP65

Ignore
« on: July 02, 2010, 01:22:08 PM »

Hi,

I'm am about to get my first radio and I am going to get the FT-817ND for mobility, backpacking and something that I could use at home as well.

Can you give me some recommendations for antenna’s for backpacking.

Also an antenna for home use?

I'm looking to get the best bang for my buck, as many bands as possible.

Oh, and I am a newbie.

I know you can spend a lot of $$$ on your rigs and set up, but I'm looking to get the radio and antenna's for under $1000.

Thanks.

Scooter

K0BG

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2010, 02:27:02 PM »

You can make contacts with almost any antenna, but the bigger the better. In your case, there are several small antennas to choose from, not the least of which is the Buddy Pole system. Just remember, you're already handicapped with reduced power, so an abbreviated antenna just adds a level of insult. If you're into QRP, you'll probably enjoy the setup. If not, well....

If your intent is to do mobile, then I suspect you'd be better off with the FT-857D, the 100 watt version. It all depends on your operating style, and expectations.

WB6BYU

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2010, 04:15:14 PM »

I use a set of HF wire dipoles for backpacking.  I have about 30' of small RG-174 coax cable
with a dipole center insulator on one end.  Each time I set up I decide which band(s) I want
to operate and attach the corresponding wires to the insulator, then string it in a tree or
other convenient support.  I tuned the wires up once in a local park about 30 years ago
and have been using them ever since without a tuner.  The full length wires have a wider
SWR bandwidth and lower losses than the shortened commercial antennas and cost
much less.