Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: New Ham Looking for Advice  (Read 11400 times)
KB1OJQ

Ignore
« on: August 05, 2010, 12:24:44 AM »

I am relatively new to the field of Ham radio, I studied electronics for 4 years so I have a strong background in electronics and my instructor is a fellow ham so I took the leap and got my Technicians license. Anyways I am need of some help. If anyone can give me some advice it would be very appreciated.

I just bought my first new rig and I needed some advice on the antenna and mounting. I purchased a Yaesu FT-7900R/E.

http://www.yaesu.ru/files/info/yaesu/ft-7900r-brochure.pdf

http://www.eham.net/reviews/detail/8280

I want to install it in my new car and hence the problem I have. I cant use my 2/70cm mag mount because that would scratch up and discolor the paint. I was thinking about looking into a hood mount antenna/ lip antenna, similar to that of a regular fm antenna placement on a car. The car is a hatchback so I can't use a trunk mount, and since its brand new I cant very well go drilling holes in the center of the roof.

Here's a picture of the car so you can get an idea of what I'm working with.

http://images.autobytel.com/web/carpicsviews/800pixelswide/CAC00POC312B0101.jpg

Anyone that has suggestions on what kind of mount I could use, model numbers, websites, would be tremendously appreciated. I want to get an antenna to go along with the mount, a 2m/70cm compatible with the antenna recommendations from you guys.

Thanks everyone

73, John
KB1OJQ
W5LZ

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2010, 05:08:41 AM »

John,