Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Crimp On PL259 Supply  (Read 4972 times)
W3LK

Ignore
« Reply #15 on: November 08, 2010, 10:31:18 AM »

I've been putting crimped connectors on RG8/213-size coax for over 10 years and have yet to have a failure of any kind. I am of the opinion that crimp connectors that fail are the result of improper installation - just like soldered connectors that fail.

I don't condemn those who solder PL-259s but I do get a little miffed at solder-snobs who think their way is the ONLY way.

I'll say it again, even some of you don't like to hear it: virtually no one but hams use soldered connectors. There must be a pretty good reason for that. Smiley

A smoking section in a restaurant makes as much sense as a peeing section in a swimming pool.
W3JKS

Ignore
« Reply #16 on: November 09, 2010, 02:57:45 PM »

If I have an antenna with LMR400 or RG-213 hanging from a UHF connector, I usually use a Kellems cable grip to take the strain off the connector (old power utility engineer  Roll Eyes ).

I've been using crimp connectors for decades, mostly N's though.

john W3JKS/AAT3BF/AAM3EDE/AAM3RE/AAA9SL
K4RCH

Ignore
« Reply #17 on: November 09, 2010, 08:04:41 PM »

Stick with high quality connectors and tools and you can't go wrong. I've been using AMP crimp-on connectors for over 25 years now and have never had one fail, indoors or outdoors. Of course quality doesn't come cheap.

UHF for RG58
UHF for RG8

WB6DGN

Ignore
« Reply #18 on: November 10, 2010, 01:00:52 AM »