Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 1:1 Choke for 160m Marconi Twin Lead Inv. L Antenna  (Read 1809 times)
WY0Q

Ignore
« on: October 22, 2010, 09:01:57 AM »

I have been using this antenna for two years with great results. I usually run about 350 watts on this band. I have 12  ground radials of various lengths and also tied into a 75 ft. wire fence.  Sometimes I have RFI  which knocks me off the internet.  I was considering using a 1:1 choke of 18-21 feet of coax on a form, (plastic coffee Can) at the feed point.  Not sure if this will work well on 160m though. Anyone tried this, or have a better idea I can try?
« Last Edit: October 22, 2010, 11:28:43 AM by Bernard Paul Dyl » Logged
K4SAV

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2010, 07:06:04 PM »

20 ft of RG213 on a 5 inch diameter form should give about 15 turns.  That should produce a coil with a low frequency inductance of 17.9 uH, a distributed capacitance of 12 pf, a self resonance of about 10.7 MHz, and a loss resistance of 0.3 ohms at 1.8 MHz.  Unfortunately the impedance at 1.8 MHz is only about 208 ohms.  That's not enough to do much good. 

If you doubled the number of turns you could get about 514 ohms and that might show a little difference but again, it might not.  You really need something much higher to be significant.

A better choice would be one of the large ferrite toroids and use miniature high power coax so that you can get several turns on it.  Some people use the one inch beads that will fit over RG213 but this takes a lot of beads and can get expensive.