Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Antenna using fiream cleaning rods  (Read 3194 times)
W0TLP

Ignore
« on: October 17, 2010, 12:46:22 PM »

I'm pretty new to ham radio and am getting very interested in portability for location operations.

I'd like to build a few highly portable antennas, starting with 2 meter, the only band I am currently operating. I think I can build a 1/2 wave vertical antenna with sections of firearm cleaning rods, in either brass or aluminum. I want 1/2 wave since it does not require a ground plane.

I'm trying to figure out what I can use to screw the antenna into that will then allow me to add the appropriate feed line. I'd like the base to mount to a 1/4-20 screw thread to attach it to a compact photo light stand.

The only option I can think of now is to solder a 1/4-20 nut to a sheet of metal, possibly a round electrical box cover, and then mount a mag-mount base to it, provided I can screw the cleaning rods into the base. The tip section of the rod will be cut to provide the appropriate total length for 1/2 wave.

I should add that I have considered using an MFJ 332 mag mount with an MFJ 1714 telescopic antenna, but I need something that will handle the 35 watts from my amp. I don't think the 1714 will take 35 watts. Besides, I though it would be more fun to create this myself.  Smiley

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance for your consideration and ideas.

KD0KVV
« Last Edit: October 17, 2010, 01:02:49 PM by Teak » Logged
WB6BYU

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2010, 01:37:36 PM »

Any sort of conductor will work as the radiator.  What size are the cleaning rods and do they have threaded
ends that connect them together?

You need some sort of matching circuit for an end-fed half wave, whether it is a transmission line stub (like