Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Yaesu FT-450 dead  (Read 6183 times)
KK4AZ
Member

Posts: 2




Ignore
« on: November 27, 2010, 12:30:37 PM »

I just purchased a used FT-450. When pushing the on putton I only hear a click. Holding longer creates a string of clicking. Sounds just like the clatter of a relay clicking in an out. Any ideas of what would cause this. Like, in transit ?  Huh
   Tnx fer any help. Ken ks4nu
Logged
NO2A
Member

Posts: 768




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2010, 02:36:07 PM »

By all means i would do a full reset to see if this clears it. Assuming of course the radio will do this. My FT-857D has a way of cleaning the relay by holding in certain buttons then holding the power button. Maybe doing this would help yours,provided it will do it in the condition it`s in(if  the `450 has this feature,that is). Check your manuel first,or other `450 owner`s.
Logged
VE3OYJ
Member

Posts: 16




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2010, 11:50:43 AM »

Check for power supply voltage at radio.
Sounds like low voltage not allowing the relays to be pulled closed.
Logged
KK4AZ
Member

Posts: 2




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2010, 03:28:07 PM »

I tested the pwr supply wid 2 meters. Both showed 13.8v. The digital meter didn't show a drop (too slow) but the analog meter needle dipped for a nano sec. (the widge of the needle) then back on the mark when the relay clicked. Connections at rig looked  Huh good so only ckd at the pwr supply.
   I gave up an sent the rig to  http://www.hamradiorepairfix.com/ also known as Technical Specialists, LLC
 Will let ya know outcome. tnx, Ken ks4nu
Logged
KD4LLA
Member

Posts: 454




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: December 05, 2010, 12:45:24 PM »

Ken,

Sorry to hear you are having trouble w/ the FT-450.  Not much to offer bit I remember you as KD4IAJ.  Retired to Florida?  Well I am in Minnesota near my brothers farm.  Anyway, send me a note later if you want.

Mike
KD4LLA
m3425man@yahoo.com
Logged
WV4I
Member

Posts: 136




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2010, 07:45:29 AM »

See this radio already went for repairs.

Meanwhile, first want to unhook everything except power cable. Carefully check for cable flaws. Everything includes mike, antenna, everything. These radios have a substantial amp draw at power up. and if amps/volts not there, click-clack, perhaps momentary display, and shutdown. Try starting one up with a 12vdc/1A supply for a demo.

Next, want check position of the programming switch. See bottom, front left corner, of radio. For normal ops, this switch should be to Left, and for programming, right. Yaesu has instructions, pics, on their web site, re this switch. Their right/left instructions are confusing vs orientation of the radio. Follow instructions exactly, as it matters whether/when power is supplied to radio, plugged in, whether turned on or not. And sometimes these radios hang up during attempts to install updated firmware, not to mention attempts to soft program freq expansion, etc.. So try turn on with switch in both positions, hopefully will get control of radio back, if not simply a power supply/quality problem. Also, could be dealing with a botched firmware upgrade.

Very early FT-450AT owner here, and still have it/like it.
Logged
KA1VF
Member

Posts: 34




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2011, 12:53:21 PM »

I'm the original owner of an "old" Yaesu FT-450AT rig manufactured April of 1997,
and I've had this same problem while connected to a dedicated RadioShack PS-25.

It happened the first time just a few days after I'd purchased it at HRO, and they
gave me a new replacement DC cord, but I still have that problem occasionally.

   note: I've always been able to get the rig to eventually power up by wiggling
           and jiggling the DC cord's connector at the back of the radio. Also, I've
           occasionally had to manually tighten down the DC cord's connections at
           the back of the RadioShack PS-25.

            good luck and 73,  Bob
Logged
K9RCM
Member

Posts: 17




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2011, 12:25:24 PM »

I think maybe you mean 2007 not 1997, heh?
Logged
KA1VF
Member

Posts: 34




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: March 17, 2011, 07:22:55 AM »

   Yes, I was having a "Senior" moment, and I meant to type April of 2007.


        73 to all, de KA1VF
Logged
PE1HZG
Member

Posts: 57




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2011, 11:18:25 AM »

I just purchased a used FT-450. When pushing the on putton I only hear a click. Holding longer creates a string of clicking.

An 897 (and, I suspect, the 450, since it may share some of the design), draws a sizable power surge if powered up. I have had lab power supplies go into current protection because of this.

Also, a poor connection in the power cord may cause the voltage to drop, causing the CPU to shut down, then restart, etc.

Test with a power supply with more reserve, or a car battary, and check the power cable wiring.

73,

Geert Jan PE1HZG
Logged
KB9HGI
Member

Posts: 8


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2011, 08:50:34 PM »

Next, want check position of the programming switch. See bottom, front left corner, of radio. For normal ops, this switch should be to Left, and for programming, right. Yaesu has instructions, pics, on their web site, re this switch. Their right/left instructions are confusing vs orientation of the radio. Follow instructions exactly, as it matters whether/when power is supplied to radio, plugged in, whether turned on or not. And sometimes these radios hang up during attempts to install updated firmware, not to mention attempts to soft program freq expansion, etc.. So try turn on with switch in both positions, hopefully will get control of radio back, if not simply a power supply/quality problem. Also, could be dealing with a botched firmware upgrade.

Very early FT-450AT owner here, and still have it/like it.

Where is there a switch in the bottom left corner? I have a Yaeu FT-450At 2007 model and I do not see a program switch on the fron left bottom corner. You sure you have the right radio?
Logged
KG6BRG
Member

Posts: 119




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: April 10, 2011, 06:11:29 AM »



Where is there a switch in the bottom left corner? I have a Yaeu FT-450At 2007 model and I do not see a program switch on the fron left bottom corner. You sure you have the right radio?
[/quote]



You have to remove the bottom cover, if I remember correctly.  I've seen it (the switch) when I was installing the flip up feet.  cheers.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!