Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: New Ham with Mobile Q's  (Read 2290 times)
KC9TJK

Ignore
« on: December 01, 2010, 02:18:36 PM »

Just to start off, I am completely new to Amateur Radio (just got my call sign yesterday). I currently own a Yaesu VX6R HT that I plan to use as a very temporary mobile setup. I know this isn't the most useful application for an HT, however, it will only be used in this fashion until I have the green to purchase a good mobile.

My questions are in regards to mobile antenna type and configuration. What antenna setup would give me the best performance?I have noticed on the sites that I have looked at that most people use two separate antennas for 2m and 70 cm. Are these antennas ran through a duplexer and then connected to the radio? Is there any advantage to that setup as opposed to just using a single dualband antenna? I am not concerned about HF right now either.

I realize I have a lot to learn and look forward to doing so. Any and all responses are appreciated.

KC9TJK
W3LK

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2010, 02:24:01 PM »

There is no particular advantage (in amateur radio) of using separate VHF and UHF antennas.

As for a particular antenna, the best antenna on the market is the Larsen NMO270B mounted in the middle of the roof or trunk deck with an american-made NMO through-hole mount.

Be advised, that using an external antenna like this may well overload the front-end of your HT. For city work, it is quite possible an external antenna is not necessary to hit the local repeaters. Try it first before pursuing the external antenna route.

Welcome Abord!

A smoking section in a restaurant makes as much sense as a peeing section in a swimming pool.
KC9TJK

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2010, 02:38:35 PM »