Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Putting it all together  (Read 7123 times)
KK4AXX

Ignore
« on: December 03, 2010, 02:47:23 PM »

I'll admit it.

I am a Newb.  When it comes to HAM radio, I can't find my own rear with both hands and radar. 

Now that that is out of the way, here's what's going on.  I'm determined to get into this hobby.  My father-in-law gave m some old equipment that needs some work & if I can get it all together - and running - I'll save a ton of cash.  (That means a lot when you are a disabled Vet with four kids at home, medical issues, & limited funds.)

One question that WILL be asked is "Why not have your father-in-law come over & set it up for you?"  Well, his schedule is very different from mine and between that & distance, it just isn't feasible.

Here is what I have now:
 - A Heathkit SB 104A Transceiver
 - A Heathkit SB 604 Speaker w/ a power supply
 - A Heathkit SB 644 Remote VFO
 - An Electro-Voice Mic (Model #638)
 - An Electro-Voice Mic Stand(Model #423A)
 - A handful of manuals & schematics

No antenna yet, I'll build one when I've got a clue which way to go.  For that matter, I'll need to make my leads there as well due to the Heathkit using an RCA connector for the antenna-to-radio connection.

OK.  Where do I start?  Connect what to where, and what is each bit used for?  When I said "newb", I meant for you to imagine yanking some random guy off the street, slamming him into a chair in front of a pile of unknown equipment, and turning him into an operational HAM.

Consider me a project of sorts.  Grin

Meanwhile, I'll be studying for my license, too...

Looking forward to your replies,

George U. Potter Lodge, #912, F. & A. M. of Alabama
A.A.S.R., S.J. - Valley of Mobile, Orient of Alabama
Dave Langham Chapter, #536, Order of the Eastern Star
Order of DeMolay, Mobile Chapter, Adult Advisory Council
KE4DRN