Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Island Station Building (first station)  (Read 4717 times)
MEHAM

Ignore
« on: January 04, 2011, 07:44:16 PM »

Hello!  I'm new to Amateur Radio.  I am going to take the exam for my license in about a week.

I'm looking for some suggestions for a beginner station setup.  I currently have an R20 scanner which I love.  I really dig the ICOM gear/interface but I am definitely open to any brands.  I have been researching all sorts of equipment which has been great fun, but I need some experienced advice to move further and figure out the right direction(s) I should go with this.

Install location:
- Setup will be on an island, approx 2.5mi by 1.5mi, minimal elevation on the island, but many trees. 
- Can install antennas on the house roof

Main goals:
- Initial setup I can grow with and continue to learn/experiment with
- Be able to setup a crossband repeater (for coverage on the island + experimentation)
- Be able to cover the island so I can reliably use 5W handhelds with the repeater
 (if required)

Some specs that I would like in the setup:
- VHF/UHF
- HF (ideally all in one unit, may want a separate HF dedicated unit later)
- Dualband/Dualwatch receiver
- Crossband Repeat (if needed for HT island coverage)
- Full wideband receive (ideally, but can use my R20 hooked to an antenna for this)
- Computer programmable (controllable?)

Other questions:
Is VHF or UHF better to cover a tree covered island?
Do I want a 'base station' transceiver, or a 'mobile' transceiver?

I'm sure I left a bunch of info out so please ask questions if there is anything else
I can tell you to help clarify what would work best for my setup!  Thanks!

Louis
K9KJM

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2011, 10:40:24 PM »

A first class "do it all" base station is the Kenwood TS2000.