Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Firefox vs MSIE 8 on eham  (Read 11304 times)
W8JX
Member

Posts: 5344




Ignore
« Reply #15 on: March 20, 2011, 04:11:47 PM »

You will find FireFox in a 64bit flavor (currently a 4.0 beta under MineField name) is a whole different animal. With 64 bit that is no 3.2gig 32 bit barrier and with a multicore CPU, 64 bit OS and 4gig plus memory it really wakes up. I still find Chrome lacking in more areas than FireFox as there as sites that will not render properly with Chrome but will with FireFox. 
Logged

--------------------------------------
Entered using a  WiFi Win 8.1 RT tablet or a Android tablet using 4G/LTE or WiFi.
WB4M
Member

Posts: 113




Ignore
« Reply #16 on: April 24, 2011, 09:08:59 AM »

I have trouble with Firefox.  It will run OK for few weeks, then stop booting up for some unknown reason.  I tried a few other browsers and settled on Ace Explorer.  It is faster and no problems at all.
Logged
W0BTU
Member

Posts: 1552


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #17 on: April 24, 2011, 11:45:32 AM »

What is "Ace Explorer"?
Logged

W8JX
Member

Posts: 5344




Ignore
« Reply #18 on: April 25, 2011, 08:53:35 AM »

I have trouble with Firefox.  It will run OK for few weeks, then stop booting up for some unknown reason.  I tried a few other browsers and settled on Ace Explorer.  It is faster and no problems at all.

I have a friend that had a similar problem. When he switched from 4.0 back to Nightly builds the problem went away.  Personal I have never had this problem with any FireFox version and I run a lot of windows and tabs too and have been for several years. I suspect there is a software conflict on machine as FireFox which maybe have compatibility issues with a few MS sites is pretty reliable otherwise.
Logged

--------------------------------------
Entered using a  WiFi Win 8.1 RT tablet or a Android tablet using 4G/LTE or WiFi.
W0BTU
Member

Posts: 1552


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #19 on: April 25, 2011, 12:01:52 PM »

The only real problem I had with FF, I finally traced to a buggy Adobe Reader. When I configured Firefox to open PDF files inside Reader instead of in a new tab inside Firefox, things got so much better.
Logged

W8JX
Member

Posts: 5344




Ignore
« Reply #20 on: April 25, 2011, 02:08:00 PM »

Adobe is far from perfect and there latest 10.x version is "buggy" under 64 bit. 8.x and 9.x were not.
Logged

--------------------------------------
Entered using a  WiFi Win 8.1 RT tablet or a Android tablet using 4G/LTE or WiFi.
W0BTU
Member

Posts: 1552


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #21 on: April 25, 2011, 03:47:11 PM »

Sounds like I'm not the only 64-bit user who's experienced that.
Logged

W8JX
Member

Posts: 5344




Ignore
« Reply #22 on: April 25, 2011, 03:57:59 PM »

I have been using 64 bit for close to 4 years now. I started with it when drivers were scarce but all that has changed now. In a few more year 32 bit is going to be rare. Word is that Win7 may be last MS OS to ship in 32 bit flavor.
Logged

--------------------------------------
Entered using a  WiFi Win 8.1 RT tablet or a Android tablet using 4G/LTE or WiFi.
W0BTU
Member

Posts: 1552


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #23 on: April 25, 2011, 04:10:24 PM »

Which 64-bit OS, John? I'm using Win7, which has not been out that long. XP and Linux here is all 32-bit.
Logged

KB0ASQ
Member

Posts: 102


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #24 on: April 25, 2011, 04:43:11 PM »

They have had a 64bit version of XP out for awhile.
Logged

Allen KBØASQ
http://kb0asq.com
W8JX
Member

Posts: 5344




Ignore
« Reply #25 on: April 25, 2011, 05:09:11 PM »

Which 64-bit OS, John? I'm using Win7, which has not been out that long. XP and Linux here is all 32-bit.

Right now I am running Vista and Win7 64 bit. Actually I kinda prefer Vista 64 bit over Win7 64bit. I have a few free upgrade from Vista to WIN7 32 bit I need to do here sometime.  My 64 bit Vista machine has a quad core Intel CPU  and 8 gig of ram and it is a very stable machine and very quick. It can rip a video and play a high level game at same time. Vista 64 bit does not more than 4 gig to really run though while Win7 64bit does do better on 4gig than Vista. My ham computer though is a old XP laptop with a new HD and 1.5 gig of ram and a 1.7 gig Celeron 390. I have a quad core replacement machine I am building that I plan to run Vista 64 on.
Logged

--------------------------------------
Entered using a  WiFi Win 8.1 RT tablet or a Android tablet using 4G/LTE or WiFi.
KJ4AGA
Member

Posts: 76




Ignore
« Reply #26 on: May 17, 2011, 02:44:36 PM »

Pale Moon anyone?
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!