Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: SS self tuning amp: Tokyo Hi Power vs Acom  (Read 4723 times)
W3HKK
Member

Posts: 593




Ignore
« on: February 28, 2011, 06:16:47 AM »

Shopping around for   something in the 700-1000 watt range to go with my IC7600.  Either of these two seem popular.  Any suggestions as to the best for the buck amp between these two, or others SS auto-tune amps?
Logged
K6AER
Member

Posts: 3476




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2011, 12:54:47 PM »

When did ACOM come out with a SS no tune amplifier?
Logged
WX7G
Member

Posts: 5917




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2011, 01:23:02 PM »

SS amps in order of power. Prices are from Ham Radio Outlet (HRO) except for the Prometheus.

Ameritron ALS-600S runs 500 W CW and 600 W SSB. $1500
THP HL-1.2KFX runs 600 W CW and 750 W SSB. $2600
THP HL-1.5KFX runs 900W CW and 1000 W SSB. $3500
ICOM IC-PW1 runs 1000 W CW and 1000 W SSB and has an autotuner. $4700
Yaesu VL-1000 runs 1000 W CW and 1000 W SSB and has an autotuner. $4200
Ameritron ALS-1200 runs 1200 W CW and 1200 W SSB.  $2400
Prometheus DX2400L1 runs 1500 w CW and 1500 W SSB. $10250


The Yaesu and Icom will deliver full power into a 3:1 VSWR. The Ameritrons will work into a 2:1 VSWR at reduced power and will deliver full power into a 1.5:1 VSWR. I don't know about the THP amps but I suspect they are the same as the Ameritrons. The Prometheus will work into a 2:1 VSWR.

I own both an ALS-600 and an ALS-1300.


« Last Edit: February 28, 2011, 02:45:30 PM by WX7G » Logged
WB2WIK
Member

Posts: 20542




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2011, 02:10:43 PM »

When did ACOM come out with a SS no tune amplifier?

And even when did Tokyo Hi-Power?  I've used a lot of their amps, none of them were auto-tune.
Logged
KA5N
Member

Posts: 4380




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2011, 03:56:01 PM »

Add to the list my two SB-200's  each puts out 500 watts SSB and I automatically tune them.
One cost $225 and the other $345  (add a few bucks for minor refurbs and that is a great bang for the buck). 

Some of those other amps are in the category "If you have to ask the price you can't afford
it."

Allen
Logged
K7JQ
Member

Posts: 299




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2011, 09:01:27 PM »

I believe he said "no tune" (no load and plate controls), not "auto tune".

With the exception of PW-1, Quadra, and SPE Expert amps (built-in auto tuners...but will only handle 3:1 SWR or less), all the others are "no tune" ONLY if the SWR is less than 2:1. If more than that, the amps will fault and shut down, and you will need an outboard tuner....there goes the "no tune" feature if your antennas aren't reasonably resonant.

I run an Icom IC-7600 with a THP HL-1.5Kfx...they work seamlessly together. Commercial quality amp, convenient operation with resonant antennas, but quite expensive when you consider watts per dollar. That was my choice, but your circumstances might be different. I had an Ameritron ALS-600 before the THP, and never had a problem with it in 3 years of ownership. Good luck with your decision.
73, Bob, K7JQ
Logged
WB2WIK
Member

Posts: 20542




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2011, 09:08:06 AM »

I believe he said "no tune" (no load and plate controls), not "auto tune".
 

The original post said, "SS self tuning..."

I guess different interpretations are available, but I thought "self tuning" meant it had some way to actually tune itself.  ;-)

Logged
W3HKK
Member

Posts: 593




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: March 01, 2011, 06:13:35 PM »

I was favoring the THP from all Ive heard, but at a high $/watt as you say.    Thought they had an auto tune amp but maybe I was thinking of the amp plus external THP tuner.

c. 750 watts cw would be a reasonable power level for my needsthese days.  For years I used a Denton Clipperton L  heavily in contests but sold it  when I moved to a deed restricted area.  Now Im  retired and "free again" so an amp would come in handy on 160-6m. 

I much prefer solid state with a quiet blower but some of the lower priced  tube amps may be hard to resist,  since Im also  looking at a tower and  5 band yagi.rotator in the very near future.



Logged
WX7G
Member

Posts: 5917




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: March 01, 2011, 08:32:17 PM »

The ALS-600 is much cheaper than the THP and is considered by many to be bullet proof. $1229 at Texas Towers.

Logged
WE1X
Member

Posts: 317




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2011, 06:43:51 PM »

I use the THP HL-1.2Kfx with my IC-7600 and TS-590S. Easy to set up. Simple to use. Works great. Well built. Yes, pricey, but I think it's worth it.

Harry WE1X
Logged
KH6DC
Member

Posts: 634




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: March 02, 2011, 11:52:33 PM »

I have a Icom 7600 with a Tokyo Hy Power Hl1.2Kfx and they work well together.  The THP is autotune in a sense it'll tune to whatever frequency you're on but you select the band.  The THP is a precision piece of equipment that's built with TLC and strong attention to detail.  I have an Ameritron AL811 and it looks like a grade school electronics project.  I've seen the inside of my friend's ALS1300 and there is no comparison.  Looks like my first high school electronics project with cold solder or "ball" solder joints.   Is THP worth the price?  I say definitely.  If I were to buy another tube amp, it'll be either Acom or Alpha.
Logged

73 and Aloha,
de Delwyn, KH6DC
K7PEH
Member

Posts: 1125




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: March 03, 2011, 07:10:22 AM »

I believe he said "no tune" (no load and plate controls), not "auto tune".
 

The original post said, "SS self tuning..."

I guess different interpretations are available, but I thought "self tuning" meant it had some way to actually tune itself.  ;-)




Actually, the post uses the phrase "self tuning amp" in the title and it uses the phrase "...auto-tune amps" in the text body.

I have an Icom PW-1 (used with my Icom 756 Pro III) and although it is expensive I do like it.  However, I hardly ever use it anymore.  I only use it with SSB and I am now about 90 percent CW with my K3.  Although, Elecraft is coming out with a 500 watt class S/S amp soon where the kit price is $1995 (or maybe it is $1999).  I will be looking at that to add some push to the K3.
Logged
K7JQ
Member

Posts: 299




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: March 03, 2011, 08:57:40 AM »

Yup...the original poster did use two different phrases to describe the "tune" function. What I should have said was "I believe he meant no-tune (no plate and load controls)...". Trying to decipher his intentions. Sorry for my misconception :>) Anyway, I think the posts presented should give him some food for thought regarding power/functions/features/quality/price considerations.
Logged
W9OY
Member

Posts: 1291


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #13 on: March 03, 2011, 12:35:49 PM »

I have a als-1300 and I sold my acom 2k  I didn't like the acom at all though it will do 3db more than the asl-1300.  My antennas are low swr where I operate and every thing including the ant swiches all automatically band follow my rig

for the odd time I need tuning I have a manual tuner in line

73 W9OY
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!