Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Icom 718 tuner function  (Read 1749 times)
M5AEO
Member

Posts: 273




Ignore
« on: April 07, 2011, 01:31:18 PM »

Does anyone know if it is possible to 'fool' the 'Tuner' function on the IC-718 into working without having the auto-tuner connected?

In the manual it says that pressing the 'Tuner' button with the auto-tuner connected causes the rig to radiate 10w of CW for tuning purposes; it then reverts to the previously selected mode and power level.

It would be great to be able to do this with my manual tuner.
I thought that fiddling with the auto tuner connector on the back may produce a solution?
Any ideas?

Jonathan, M5AEO, London.




Logged
N9VO
Member

Posts: 157




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2011, 01:41:05 PM »

Sure it works. Add on on the ten-a-tuner or like circuits to the rear plug and it will make your rig think any autotuner is connected and put out approx a 10 watt signal. Just like you want.
Logged
M5AEO
Member

Posts: 273




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2011, 01:50:33 PM »

Thank you N9VO!  Can you point me to a wiring / circuit diagram??

M5AEO


Logged
N4IAG
Member

Posts: 49




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2011, 03:13:34 PM »

Here's a site that sells them.
http://www.betterrf.com/706-tune.html

Also, there are plans on the Internet if you search.
Logged

I want to die peacefully in my sleep like my grandfather, not screaming in terror like his passengers.
VK2FXXX
Member

Posts: 102




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2011, 04:37:10 AM »

for free!(almost)
http://www.hampedia.net/icom/ic-718.php
enjoy
 Brendan
« Last Edit: April 09, 2011, 04:39:23 AM by VK2FXXX » Logged
KB3MDT
Member

Posts: 208




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2011, 07:15:27 PM »

Hi,   
    I have been using the http://www.betterrf.com/706-tune.html
plug for a couple of years with great success.  Its nothing more than the right connector with a little circuit board on it.   I think it was fairly cheap - under $20.   I bought it the same time I bought the radio.

73
Ken
KB3MDT
Logged
KB3MDT
Member

Posts: 208




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2011, 07:19:50 PM »

Hi,
   I forgot to say the Betterrf.com adapter works with the front tuner button on the ICOM 718.   No need for a separate switch.   You have to go into the ICOM setup Menu and tell it you have Tuner Type 4 to make it work.   The adapter came with a short instruction sheet  (About size of postcard) that walks you through it. 

  One of the circuits on the internet requires you add your own switch.   

73
Ken
KB3MDT

Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!