Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: CQ WW Strategy  (Read 907 times)
KD8IZZ

Ignore
« on: October 23, 2008, 05:40:00 AM »

I am fairly new to contesting and this will be my first CQ WW.
During the daytime (in Ohio) I would be on 20 meters definitely, but checking 15 to see if its open.
But what about after dark when 20 meters dies? I never heard DX on 40 meters. At midnight what bands and strategy should I use? I have access to some nice tall 40-6m beams and my own 80-10m vertical.
KB3HJK

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2008, 06:02:29 AM »

DX on 40 might be down in the CW portion of the band, with the DX station working split. But you will be suprised how many DX stations seem to surface during this contest, all over the band.

Kevin
KO4NX

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2008, 10:57:06 AM »

Hello:

I typically do not run on 40M during a phone contest. CW on that band is great, but phone is a real bear. Not only do you have alot of the DX running split, you have to put up with all the broadcast interference.

Usally when 80 Meters opens up I move there to run, and then S&P Mult's on 40 meter as needed. If you have a 160 meter antenna you may want to give that a try. Last night Europe was wide open to the states, and there is typically alot of room to play with. I would caution, this would only be a good strategy if you are unable to hold a run on 80 meters.

Rich, AJ3G
KD8IZZ

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2008, 11:37:35 AM »

I'm sure that 20 meters will be wall to wall. And if 15 meters isn't open then the rest will be on 40. Will people be running split when the frequency real estate is this crowded?
KO4NX

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2008, 12:09:50 PM »

Not all, but quit a few will be. They typically sit on top of the CW portion of the band and listen up into our phone portion.