Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: HF or VHF, that is the question  (Read 5151 times)
KB1PDK

Ignore
« on: April 21, 2011, 01:17:47 AM »

Hello,

I am new to Ham radio.  I have approached the sport as a home brewer, because of having an electronics background, I thought I would get into it by building my own HF superhet transceiver and have a great time making contacts all over the bands that it was desinged for.  I wouldn't settle for using a previously designed circuit.  I had to design and build it myself.  Well, I tried for 7 years and built 6 of them, three of which almost worked, but never made a contact.  Per request (more like demand) of wife and freinds and other relatives, due to the amount of time I was spending on it, I gave it up and now I am looking for a used rig.  It comes as somewhat of a relief.  But what I am faced with now, is that with limited funds, most used HF rigs are out of my reach.  How much less in demand are VHF rigs and how much more difficult is it to find activity in the VHF ranges than HF?  I have gotten the impression (perhaps erroneously), that some VHF prices are lower for used equipment.  Is that correct?  Maybe I should set my sights on VHF instaed of HF.  I'm interested in hearing other opinions.

George
KB1PDK
« Last Edit: April 21, 2011, 05:50:19 AM by KB1PDK » Logged
AC4RD

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2011, 04:26:35 AM »

Which type of operating seems like it will be more fun, to you?   That might be a more important consideration, really.  I don't think I've used VHF in years; just doesn't appeal to me, but I find HF lots of fun.  You might feel the same way, or you might feel exactly the opposite.   What you WANT to do is more important than saving a hundred bucks buying gear, IMO. 
KB1PDK

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2011, 04:39:57 AM »