Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: HRD and a new call sign  (Read 2297 times)
KE4JOY
Member

Posts: 1377




Ignore
« on: April 25, 2011, 08:36:42 AM »

I recently got a new call sign and was wondering how to handle this in HRD. I have several hundred contacts logged in HRD under the previous call but I could not see anywhere how to either start a new log or 'migrate' contacts into a new log.

I ask here because at the moment HRD's website is not responding.
Logged
N4IAG
Member

Posts: 49




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2011, 09:12:25 AM »

I haven't needed to try this, but maybe this is what you're looking for. 

On top menu select Logbook > Databases > Manager > Add. Name it what you want. Then open it by selecting that name you entered.
Logged

I want to die peacefully in my sleep like my grandfather, not screaming in terror like his passengers.
KB0ASQ
Member

Posts: 102


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2011, 12:40:16 PM »

That should do it, you just have to make sure you select the correct log when you are running it.  It should default to the last one open.
Logged

Allen KBØASQ
http://kb0asq.com
W5DQ
Member

Posts: 1209


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2011, 01:36:12 PM »

That should do it, you just have to make sure you select the correct log when you are running it.  It should default to the last one open.

If I am understanding this correctly from what you're saying, HRD limits to one own callsign per log? What if I have multiple callsigns to account for in my logbook.

If what is being implied is correct, I might recommend the OP take a look at DX LAB SUITE's DXKEEPER. It allows multiple own calls in a single log file. I have had 3 calls over the years and all three are present and usable in counting for awards and such as well as being able to seperate them out very easily for seeing individual own call's results.

And yes, I have tried HRD and although I didn't dig that deep into it, I found it to be not to my liking hence why I am using DX Lab Suite.

Just my 2 cents into the pot,

Gene W5DQ
Logged

Gene W5DQ
Ridgecrest, CA - DM15dp
www.radioroom.org
KB0ASQ
Member

Posts: 102


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2011, 02:25:06 PM »

If he doesn't want to create a new database, you can change your callsign under Logbook > Configure > My Station.  It should start logging with the new call sign.  I believe but am not sure that then it will keep all the statistics for awards and such.

And as always make a backup of your database.
Logged

Allen KBØASQ
http://kb0asq.com
AD6KA
Member

Posts: 2237




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2011, 07:30:50 PM »

Quote
I recently got a new call sign and was wondering how to handle this in HRD. I have several hundred contacts logged in HRD under the previous call but I could not see anywhere how to either start a new log or 'migrate' contacts into a new log.

You don't want to migrate (add) your QSO's under your old callsign
to ONLY the new callsign log, do you?
Why would you want to do that?
Not all DX stations or even non DX stations keep computer logs
or even have Internet access.

If your old call was KB1XYZ, the stations you worked back then all have
you logged with that call. If you send him a AE1YZ (example of new call) card,
do you think he will send you a card? No. Or if he has Net connection will he
lookup your old call to see if it has changed? No.

Just start a new log with your new call and use that from now on.

For QSLing, awards, DX Tracking and archiving old QSL's,  then COMBINE
the two logs and call them "COMBO LOG" or "ALL QSO's LOG" something.
HRD will let you create as many logs as you want and call them what you want.

When using the "ALL QSO'S LOG" you will know when the callsign switchoff date occured,
most of that have that memorized...or if you forget, just open your NEW callsign log and check the date of your first QSOwith the new call. Simple.
GL ES 73, Ken  AD6KA
Logged
KE4JOY
Member

Posts: 1377




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2011, 03:15:01 PM »

Yes, apologies for such a long delay in response.

You are correct I will start a new log for the new call as described.... That is now that I know how.

I can see advantage to multi calls for one book clubs, contests, etc. But not much of concern to me.

Besides I am so used to HRD now.  Grin
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!