Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Much to learn... so little time!  (Read 11272 times)
KG4ADQ

Ignore
« on: April 04, 2012, 06:00:21 AM »

I am rather new to HAM radio... and I am not much of a technical person... but I enjoy technology and its capabilities.
I am about to purchase a Kenwood TM-D710 for mobile APRS activity.  I find this so interesting and can't wait to use it.  MY main reason for my interest in APRS is the positioning.  We travel fairly often and to have our daughter and relatives keep track of where we are is very important to us. I also like the idea of knowing of other APRS operators in the area we drive thru.

Questions... Grin
1.  With the 710 I still need a gps unit to show my position, while traveling, on the internet maps, correct?

2.  As I am beginning to understand, the 710 is ready for APRS and just plug in the gps (with appropriate cable), set it up and go... no other peripherals are needed to show position while traveling, correct?

3.  Since the AVMAP unit is so very pricey...  what does it do that some of the other capable GPS units can't?  I assume I could use other GPS units that has the correct outputs???

4.  what gps units (without displays) are there for use with the 710?  I have read somewhere about a gps "puck" style? (much less expensive)

Again, I am not a wizard.. but enjoy this capability and eventually will use this positioning for my SKYWARN activities and any other emergency services, which I find APRS uniquely perfect for.

Ralph
KH4ADQ
K7RBW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2012, 07:09:37 AM »

You might also look into the offerings of Byonics and Argent Data Systems. They can be used with less expensive (but harder to find) GPS units.