Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: N-Prefix Callsign -- when ?  (Read 3837 times)
K7PEH

Ignore
« on: May 15, 2011, 01:01:18 PM »

I am curious -- when did the N prefix callsign usage begin.  When I was a Novice in the mid-1960s there were no N-prefixes used, at least I never heard of them.  Now they seem to be as abundant as the K or W prefixes.

I am also wondering how they were introduced.  Did the N prefix become part of the standard sequential issue of new call signs or did you have to request an N-prefix?

Anyone know?

Thanks,
73, phil, K7PEH
W8JX

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2011, 01:28:08 PM »

It runs in my mind mid 80's. My wife got a N no code tech call in late 80's.

--------------------------------------
All posted wireless using Win 8.1 RT, a Android tablet using 4G/LTE/WiFi or Sprint Note 3.
N5NA

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2011, 01:58:57 PM »

I received my call in 1977.  That was when the FCC had a program to allow Extra class operators to choose a call.  That may have been the time frame the first N calls were issued.

73,  Alan  N5NA
K7PEH

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2011, 02:19:51 PM »

I received my call in 1977.  That was when the FCC had a program to allow Extra class operators to choose a call.  That may have been the time frame the first N calls were issued.

Interesting.  So, did the Extra Class operators have special early access to the N prefix?  I guess I never thought about it much but I am not even sure if N prefix is limited to Extra today.  Maybe it is.
W8JX

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2011, 02:22:06 PM »

They burned up a LOT of N calls with no code techs until they were used up.

--------------------------------------
All posted wireless using Win 8.1 RT, a Android tablet using 4G/LTE/WiFi or Sprint Note 3.
NO2A

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2011, 02:50:11 PM »