Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Help with First HF Shack  (Read 4102 times)
KC2KMJ

Ignore
« on: June 02, 2011, 11:40:35 AM »

Hello folks. Need some help here. I'm currently a Tech studying to upgrade to General. I'm getting my first HF gear together, which will (probably) consist of either a Yeaesu FT-450D or FT-950, with the antenna being a Par EndFedz EF-40/20. I have a 2-floor house with my bedroom on the upper floor. Ideally, I'd like to have the station there but this could present problems. I could have the station in the basement but this also presents problems(maybe).  I'll break this message up into ground and antenna sections, please.

I could run a separate equipment ground outside but it'd be a long one (20'-25') from the 2nd floor down to the ground. Or... I could have the station in my dry basement where a ground run would be a lot shorter.

If I have the station upstairs I could mount the Par Endfedz sloper-like, one end from outside the window running down to a pole about 10' above ground. I might have to extend a short length of pvc away from the house to mount the end of the antenna away from the gutters and transceiver. The coax would be a short run from the transceiver to the Endfedz. If the station is in the basement I'd still have to mount the antenna the same way as if the station was in the 2nd floor, which means the coax run would be long (25'-28').

Which way would you go, or would you do it differently... or what? Smiley  I'd appreciate any help, tips, or corrections to my little adventure here.
N4KZ

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2011, 04:59:06 PM »

I would put the shack in the basement.

Here's why:

1. Getting an RF ground -- or DC ground for that matter -- will be hard on the second floor. Running a long ground wire up to the second floor could cause more problems than it would solve. I speak from experience.