Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... 16 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: LoTW Certificate, why so complicated?  (Read 36146 times)
WALTERB

Ignore
« on: June 03, 2011, 10:23:31 AM »

I’m new to the whole DX thing and I really enjoy making contacts.  So I signed up for the LoTW DX thing.  First download some software, answer some questions,  then wait for a post card with a password, then fill in the password, then wait for a certificate, then load the certificate.  Huh
I don’t get it?  Is there prize money involved in this at some level?  I mean are they worried about someone cheating?  Isn’t this like cheating at Solitaire?  What am I missing here?  I’ve never seen this level of security, not even for online brokerage accounts.  Smiley
KC2UGV

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2011, 10:57:45 AM »

I’m new to the whole DX thing and I really enjoy making contacts.  So I signed up for the LoTW DX thing.  First download some software, answer some questions,  then wait for a post card with a password, then fill in the password, then wait for a certificate, then load the certificate.  Huh
I don’t get it?  Is there prize money involved in this at some level?  I mean are they worried about someone cheating?  Isn’t this like cheating at Solitaire?  What am I missing here?  I’ve never seen this level of security, not even for online brokerage accounts.  Smiley

I wondered the same thing.  I finally got the certs, and installed them (Had to request a new one, since I changed computers often)...

It sounds like a system built by someone who just learned about certificates, and decided to implement it.  Poorly.
KB3LIX

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2011, 11:14:55 AM »

They are concerned with security.
The steps are necessary to verify that you are who
you say you are. Anyone could open a LoTW accound
with your call or someone elses call, but the postcard step