Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Rugged Jeep Antenna  (Read 5708 times)
KJ4VPJ

Ignore
« on: June 06, 2011, 08:39:31 AM »

I'm fairly new to a lot of things. A midlife crisis perhaps. Wifey and I went camping and off roading this weekend with some friends. It was tons-o-fun. Most in the group have CBs, so I bought a cheapie radio and a cheapie mag-mount CB antenna for my Jeep Cherokee.

On the way up to the campsite, I had the best reception and transmission compared to anyone in the convoy (7 vehicles). I'm thinking it may be because I had a good ground plane, as I stuck it in the center of the roof. Everyone else's is on a permanent bracket attached to the side of their vehicle.

I had planned to remove the antenna before going into the woods, but forgot. Now I have a nice feedline running through my truck. Oops. I'm glad the antenna was cheap.

I'd like to get something permanently mounted to my truck that is rugged enough to go through the trails. If I'm going to pay up for it, I'm thinking of one that can take several antennas. My old Icom 720a is portable enough to throw it in the truck, so building up a selection of antennas from 10M to 40M would be nice. CB would have to be one of them. I don't mind switching antennas. I don't mind switching between and using 1 radio at a time (CB vs HF rig).

So... 1) Do you think I'll get poor performance from a mount that is mounted on the side of my truck instead of on the roof? 2) Is there perhaps a setup that I don't know about that is perfectly suited for my application?

Thanks in advance,
KJ4VPJ
K0BG

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2011, 09:47:23 AM »