Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Non "disaster" emergency situations  (Read 14321 times)
JONHELD

Ignore
« on: June 14, 2011, 07:16:39 AM »

I am new to this whole thing (passed my tech exam last night), so please forgive me if this question has been asked before. I did spend a brief amount of time searching.

I am part of an off-road club and I help organize events throughout the northeast. Several of our club members are now moving to 2M as that is becoming more and more popular within the off-road community.

I spent a fair amount of time researching emergency procedures, but everything has to do with a widespread disaster scenario. My query is in regards to an individual injury in a remote area without cell reception. How do I contact local police/EMS on 2M?

I am aware of local repeaters and have already programmed them into my radio along with the “national calling frequency”, but that is subject to who happens to be listening at any given time. Do local police/EMS monitor these on a regular basis similar to CB CH9? Am I on my own? Is there something else I’m missing?

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

KC2UGV

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2011, 08:24:25 AM »

I am new to this whole thing (passed my tech exam last night), so please forgive me if this question has been asked before. I did spend a brief amount of time searching.

I am part of an off-road club and I help organize events throughout the northeast. Several of our club members are now moving to 2M as that is becoming more and more popular within the off-road community.

I spent a fair amount of time researching emergency procedures, but everything has to do with a widespread disaster scenario. My query is in regards to an individual injury in a remote area without cell reception. How do I contact local police/EMS on 2M?