Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Kenwood TM241A mic has lost some of its functions. HELP  (Read 828 times)
KC5AQO

Ignore
« on: June 14, 2011, 06:54:00 PM »

The numbers on my TM241A mic have given up the ghost. The Up, Down, vfo, mr, and call work just fine along with the transmit button, but everything else is dead. How hard to take the mike apart (and put it back together Wink) and clean the contacts, or whatever??? I'm used to working on small parts, as wristwatch repair is another hobby of mine. Any help appreciated.
KJ4I

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2011, 07:05:55 PM »

I'm not an electronics expert but I have had some luck taking the rubber keypad out and cleaning the reverse side of it with a damp cloth. Sometimes they will get dirt or goo buildup and just wont make contact. I would suggest you be gentle since their is usually a conductive coating on the back of the number keys. I guess it is possible to damage the coating while cleaning. I think you can buy the coating and repaint it on the back of the keys and that would probably be the best fix. I have never tried it but maybe someone with a little more experience than myself can give you a better answer.
N4NYY

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2011, 07:26:57 PM »

I have cleaned these type keypads numerous time, just not on the mics. Use alcohol, and clean both the PCB and the membrane. My guess is that the membrane may be worn.
AC5UP

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2011, 07:28:22 PM »

I've been meaning to clean the keypad on mine so I finally got a round tuit this evening.