Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: What's good to do?  (Read 2519 times)
NEVBEN

Ignore
« on: July 18, 2011, 05:58:38 PM »

I recently started learning about radio.  I was building a 4x4 and my wife suggested I get a radio so I can communicate from the wilderness when I am not able to via cellular telephone.  I live in a rural area where there is adjacent wilderness that is extends to the very remote.  I understood that 11m AM or SSB could work, but not with the power limits of CB.  I knew for anything else, I’d need a license so I took care of that.  I don’t have an aircraft, boat or business so I obtained an amateur license.  I needed to do it quickly because the next test dates in my area are not until September.  At that time I could upgrade to Extra if I decide to go that way.