Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: HRD and Kenwood TS 850 CAT  (Read 4777 times)
W9MB
Member

Posts: 14




Ignore
« on: July 22, 2011, 01:44:50 PM »

I can't get my TS 850 to connect to computer via HRD.  I have tried the If-232c box using both serial and usb adapter cables.  I also bought a specific cable for the 850 to usb that doesn't work.  I get Frequency=0 message.  I checked com port and speed settings, tried auto detect, everything.  Using Vista.

Anybody using HRD on an 850?
Logged
W9MB
Member

Posts: 14




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2011, 02:14:24 PM »

I just confirmed it's an HRD problem.  Dxlab commander works just fine.  It connected to the radio.
Logged
W9MB
Member

Posts: 14




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2011, 07:43:32 PM »

Nobody?
Logged
AA6YQ
Member

Posts: 1589


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2011, 12:04:28 AM »

Nobody?

If you need any help with DXLab, let me know.

    73,

        Dave, AA6YQ
Logged
W9MB
Member

Posts: 14




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2011, 07:45:51 AM »

Nobody?

If you need any help with DXLab, let me know.

    73,

        Dave, AA6YQ

DXLab is working great.  I installed the rest of the programs, and operated PSK last night.  I like HRD, but if this is gonna be a big deal, I'll just use DXLab.  Thanks for the offer!
Logged
VK2ACM
Member

Posts: 102


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2011, 05:50:19 PM »

I can't get my TS 850 to connect to computer via HRD.  I have tried the If-232c box using both serial and usb adapter cables.  I also bought a specific cable for the 850 to usb that doesn't work.  I get Frequency=0 message.  I checked com port and speed settings, tried auto detect, everything.  Using Vista.

Anybody using HRD on an 850?

Have you tried using the TS450S model instead, as I have the TS450S and my homebrew interface HRD work's great for me, just a thought....
Logged
K3TN
Member

Posts: 285


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2011, 03:07:49 AM »

I have HRD 5 running no problem with my Kenwood 850 and know another ham that has done so as well.
Logged

John K3TN
W9MB
Member

Posts: 14




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2011, 06:36:39 AM »

I have HRD 5 running no problem with my Kenwood 850 and know another ham that has done so as well.

What cable are you connecting for CAT and what are the settings?
Logged
N4NYY
Member

Posts: 4749




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: July 26, 2011, 03:07:14 PM »

What OS are you running? Some USB-serial adapter do not works with Vista/Windows 7. I got one that was approved to be used with both.
Logged
W9MB
Member

Posts: 14




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: July 26, 2011, 03:36:23 PM »

What OS are you running? Some USB-serial adapter do not works with Vista/Windows 7. I got one that was approved to be used with both.

I am using Vista, the drivers are for Vista, the cable works on another program, just not HRD.
Logged
N4NYY
Member

Posts: 4749




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: July 26, 2011, 08:17:49 PM »

Quote
I am using Vista, the drivers are for Vista, the cable works on another program, just not HRD.

OK. I am wondering if it is looking for a different number serial port. At one point, my HRD stopped working on serial 3, and I had to change it to serial 5. My guess is I must have installed/updated something that changed my serial port settings.
Logged
W9MB
Member

Posts: 14




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: July 27, 2011, 08:11:56 AM »

Quote
I am using Vista, the drivers are for Vista, the cable works on another program, just not HRD.

OK. I am wondering if it is looking for a different number serial port. At one point, my HRD stopped working on serial 3, and I had to change it to serial 5. My guess is I must have installed/updated something that changed my serial port settings.

HRD sees the port, it just can't connect to it.  Its on com 9, all the settings are correct.  I ordered a new serial cable to try.  HRD seems to be really fussy in connecting to ports.  It's a shame my new TTL to USB cord won't work on HRD.  Maybe HRD is not worth the effort?
Logged
N4NYY
Member

Posts: 4749




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: July 27, 2011, 07:19:24 PM »

It's worth it once you get it going. It is fussy over it's serial ports.
Logged
W9MB
Member

Posts: 14




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: August 01, 2011, 09:10:42 PM »

It's worth it once you get it going. It is fussy over it's serial ports.

It's working all of the sudden.......Wierd.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!