Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: USB or LSB on CW?  (Read 21132 times)
KB2VWQ

Ignore
« on: August 10, 2011, 09:34:05 PM »

I am new to CW and I am a little confused what sideband injection should I use on CW (USB or LSB)?
I read that the USB is the standard for CW. Do I have to change sidebands above/below 30 meters like in SSB?

Thank you, 73

Tom
WT2NY

K6LO

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2011, 10:12:23 PM »

No you can use USB. If you are using a general coverage receiver with a BFO, choose whichever one results in the least interference.

Luke
W8JI

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2011, 05:00:08 AM »

I am new to CW and I am a little confused what sideband injection should I use on CW (USB or LSB)?
I read that the USB is the standard for CW. Do I have to change sidebands above/below 30 meters like in SSB?

Thank you, 73

Tom
WT2NY

Unlike SSB, it makes no difference at all on CW what you use. The only difference is if the filter is wide and interference from other signals bothers you. For transmitting, there is no difference at all ever.

This is because CW is a single frequency off and on (amplitude modulated) carrier.
W8JX

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2011, 06:12:28 AM »

Unlike SSB, it makes no difference at all on CW what you use. The only difference is if the filter is wide and interference from other signals bothers you. For transmitting, there is no difference at all ever.

This is because CW is a single frequency off and on (amplitude modulated) carrier.

Actually is does make a difference in what  your displayed frequency is on rig. USB has long been the default in radio when in CW mode. If you have a schedule with someone and use LSB to tune them you will be about a couple KC of frequency because of USB default.

--------------------------------------