Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: What to do if you goof up...  (Read 709 times)
KC0ODY

Ignore
« on: April 15, 2003, 03:40:49 PM »

Hi there,

I'm pretty new to HF and CW; though I try to be careful, I sometimes find myself making mistakes in a character by putting in an occasional extra dot or dash (I have had a very hard time adjusting the sensitivity of my iambic paddles, which is usually how this happens) or, more rarely, I send the wrong character.

Now, I've heard various answers to my question, but I'd like to get a 'definitive' answer from some folks who work a lot of CW. What's the "proper" way to indicate you've goofed in sending a character? I mean, obviously, the person who's copying you will catch it, but I feel as if I should probably indicate when I've made an error... on the air, I've heard people type some extra dits, like 5-6 in a row, to indicate when they've made an error. Is this the correct way to do it? Previously, I would just type the correct character after the erroneous one.

I would like to use the correct way of indicating erroneous characters when I get my straight key. My iambic keyer's broken... no, I didn't throw it against the wall, though sometimes I felt like it... I surely don't recommend those things for newbies, especially the cheaper ones.
WB2WIK

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2003, 04:20:55 PM »

The international Morse prosign for an error is eight dits in a row (........), however that takes time and is rather punishing to anyone using a straight key.  Normally, the accepted manor by which to identify a mistake just sent is .. .., or essentially two letter "i" characters sent rapdily, in a row, with a small space between.  You'll hear experienced CW operators do this.