Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: FT-857D Running man issue  (Read 2178 times)
K3BAK
Member

Posts: 37




Ignore
« on: September 04, 2011, 10:05:52 AM »

Hello,

I noticed that when I transmit on psk31 now the running man symbol turns itself on and off and occasionally will stay on after I am done transmitting. Anyone else ever have this issue?

73
Brian
Logged
KG4RUL
Member

Posts: 2752


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2011, 10:38:18 AM »

RF feedback may be the culprit.
Logged
AC4RD
Member

Posts: 1235




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2011, 04:36:27 PM »

If it's the same "running man" as my 897, it means the tuning-knob speed has been switched from normal to fast; maybe some common-mode RF is causing that to happen on your radio.  Maybe put some ferrite chokes on the antenna coax? 
Logged
K3BAK
Member

Posts: 37




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2011, 04:46:46 PM »

Will do. It only started when I added an audio line to the rigblaster and added the rt systems cat controller cable.
Logged
KF6E
Member

Posts: 5




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2011, 06:07:18 AM »

Try a ferrite core on the audio line, since that's where the problem seems to lie.  Get one of the rectangular ones with the plastic cover that open up.  Put as many turns of the audio cable as you can through the core, and then close it back up.  That will almost certainly fix the problem.

73,
Frank
KF6E
Logged
K3BAK
Member

Posts: 37




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2011, 07:10:14 AM »

I did a little trial and error and it appears to be caused by the rt systems usb control cable. If I run the rig without it there is no issues. Unfortunately that's the only usb cable that works with my setup.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!