Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: New Ham Seeking Advice  (Read 6917 times)
KD0LQM

Ignore
« on: October 03, 2011, 02:41:37 PM »

Hello everyone,

I'm brand new to amateur radio. I got my license over a year ago and haven't done a single thing with it since. The reason is that I don't know what equipment to get, and I don't even know where to begin. I don't even know whether to go HF or VHF/UHF. I don't know anything. What questions do I need to ask myself before getting the equipment I need?

At this time I think I have a price range of up to $1000 or so, for everything.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
LA5RT

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2011, 03:28:35 PM »

hi there nice to meet another returner  Smiley

With HF (high frequency) You will be able to do communications with people all around the world.
Using VHF/UHF you will reach just within sight of horizon at UHF, a short path.

I dont know anything about satelite/moon/planet workout but thats another option.

There are several types of activities within frequency bands too.

There are contests, both locally and international within the frequency bands.

I would buy me some used ham equipments (tranceiver,antenna, and others specific for the frequency band(s) You preferre to work within.

Myself returned to hamwork due to interests in weatherbaloon and measurments using microcontroller. That involves some tracking and gps equipment beside of that Ill be mainly at HF-work.

Good luck further on

73's  de LA5RT

Hello everyone,

I'm brand new to amateur radio. I got my license over a year ago and haven't done a single thing with it since. The reason is that I don't know what equipment to get, and I don't even know where to begin. I don't even know whether to go HF or VHF/UHF. I don't know anything. What questions do I need to ask myself before getting the equipment I need?