Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Why do some OP's send VVVVV between passages?  (Read 1902 times)
M1KTA

Ignore
« on: November 19, 2003, 07:08:58 AM »

I'm still learning cw to be able to actually have qso's on air. Class room is one thing, on air just feels so different and too fast for me currently, fortunately I've had a few slow qso's so far (tnx to op that have reduced speed to help me) but I've started to notice that the use of ...- ...- ...- ...- or v v v v being inserted between passages on some qso's. I'm listening to these qso's to operating practices.

I'm still far too slow to pick up or join it yet with 12wpm+ qso's so couldn't ask directly but is this normal practice?

ct ct -.-. - -.-. - is the start or end of a passage isn't it so wondered why vvvv was being inserted.

72/3

Dom
M1KTA
K5CEY

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2003, 04:58:24 PM »

Dom,
  Traditionally for many years the V ..._ has been used as a "Test" signal.
  It sounds to me that he's just sending a string of V's to kill time while he's thinking of something to say.
  However, I'm more accustomed to a string of Double Dashes _..._  to kill time.
  "ct _._. _" has got me buffaloed. Don't know what he's doing there.
             John  K5CEY

W4YA

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2003, 05:32:49 PM »

Dom,
Good question. I've never heard anyone send VVV in a QSO. A good habit to get into is to turn it back to the other guy if you run down. A better one is to ask a question, and then turn it over. Maybe keep a short list, like "How does the band sound?"  "Heard any good DX?" etc.

A terrible habit is to say "OK on your..."  Don't repeat everything the other guy just said. The worst is to send faster than you can copy, especially CQ. Always tell the other guy that you are new to CW. We were all there once!